Ratings

All Time Rating : 70% ★★★★
3.5 out of 5 (Based on 11 Reviews)
30 Days Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
3 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
6 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
12 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
* Ratings & Reviews last refreshed on 2016-11-17 (see below)

Price History


Recent Reviews

★★★★ Four Stars Dodie Smith is always enjoyable. Hope Fineartist ( UK ) on Sun 17th Apr, 2016

★★★★★ Five Stars excellent RayF ( US ) on Mon 11th Apr, 2016

★★★★★ A Pleasant Read! The headline says it all - a pleasant read. Not really ground-breaking but a light enjoyable story, if a little predictable. Sjl.chaventre ( UK ) on Sun 27th Mar, 2016

★★★★★ Readable But Forgettable I read it and I enjoyed it but for me it is not a "must have" read. Lucy ( UK ) on Tue 22nd Mar, 2016

★★★★★ Easy Read A very easy read but no real depth to the simple story. Loose ends tied up very quickly at the end. Mrs. J. G. Eyres ( UK ) on Mon 21st Mar, 2016

★★★★★ Two Stars I thought this a very lightweight read and not a patch on "I Capture the Castle". Constantreader ( UK ) on Sat 5th Mar, 2016

★★★★★ Delightful Read I very much enjoyed this book - family drama set in a country house during lilac time . Funny and poignant. ruth ( UK ) on Mon 29th Feb, 2016

★★★★ Enjoyable Read Read this book many years ago, although of its time it is very enjoyable and I was glad to see it back in print.I capture the castle is still the best of her books. starbabe ( UK ) on Mon 10th Aug, 2015

★★★★ Tale Of Two Families By Dodie Smith Dissapointing after reading a gripping book. the stylke and the story line were both very simple. I did not complete it and have deleted it. Sorry! Nanshirl ( UK ) on Thu 6th Aug, 2015

★★★★ Character Driven This is one of those stories where there really isn't a lot that happens. There is a lot of thought about what the characters are thinking. But the characters are very well developed and the writing is very good. Pinkie ( US ) on Mon 20th Jul, 2015

★★★★ Great Tone And Language I believe this book is out of print so I was lucky to get it. This plot is not as interesting as the plot of her former best sellers, I Capture the Castle and 101 Dalmatians. However, the characters are well-developed. Smith has great use of language, a great dry wit and great comedic timing. I love her inviting style of writing and I enjoyed this book. R. Williams ( US ) on Fri 13th May, 2011

Read more reviews »

Sponsored Items

A Tale of Two Families

* Reviews last refreshed on 2016-Nov-17 *

Ratings table is based on all reviews held in our database (compiled from multiple sources), and may vary from individual sites.