Ratings

All Time Rating : 90% ★★★★★
4.5 out of 5 (Based on 86 Reviews)
30 Days Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
3 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
6 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
12 Months Rating : 94% ★★★★★
4.7 out of 5 (Based on 6 Reviews)
* Ratings & Reviews last refreshed on 2016-12-02 (see below)

Price History


Recent Reviews

★★★★ Teenage Life The book is full of scenarios of what a lot of teenagers are into. I was looking forward to the conclusion after a while since the scenarios never seemed to stop. I wish the author also delved on what adults can do to help these kids or what adults can do to become more a part of the kids' life. Luvtoshop ( US ) on Tue 15th Nov, 2016

★★★★★ Five Stars Presents realistic situations that Anerican Girls face and the effects of social media in their lives S ( US ) on Wed 9th Nov, 2016

★★★★★ Required Reading I am a psychotherapist by trade and work with a lot of young women ages 18-24. I've noticed a disturbing trend in these young women who consistently report terribly low self-esteem, fear of not being liked by guys, an inability to feel good about themselves without the validation of a guy, obsession with being perceived as hot and perfect, preoccupation with makeup and being "selfie" ready. I read and American Girls and gained so much clarity about what young women and girls are dealing with that I've recommended the book to other professionals in mental health and to my young female clients. This book is invaluable. I look forward to reading more insightful, well-researched, personable and fact-based writing from Nancy Jo Sales. Stefanie Schumacher ( US ) on Tue 25th Oct, 2016

★★★★★ A Must Read! If all parents read this book and had honest conversations with their children about respect and intimacy, the world would be a much better place for our teens and young adults. Nancy ( US ) on Mon 24th Oct, 2016

★★★★ Eye Opening Information About What Is Going On In The ... Eye opening information about what is going on in the social media world. Brace yourself if you have teenage girls. Weekend biker ( US ) on Tue 18th Oct, 2016

★★★★★ Impressive And Troubling – Better At Exploring The Problem Than Providing A Solution As the father of three girls with ages ranging from ten to fourteen, I was keenly interested in this book by Nancy Jo Sales. I spent the last few months digesting it little by little and am very glad I did. I would offer that I have a hard time imagining sitting down and powering through the book. I found myself needing to read several pages and then put the book down and think about it a little and then pick the book up again the next day. I consider myself somewhat sophisticated about social media but there were some sites discussed in the book of which I was not aware. More impressively, the author has done yeoman’s work interviewing a wide range of teenagers, primarily girls but also boys, to build a wide ranging look at how social media and internet access is impacting our society and particularly my daughters generation. There is a daunting pile of heartbreaking stories of girls who have struggled with cyber-bulling, sexting or other emotionally troubling experiences online. The stories cover a wide range of social classes and cultural backgrounds and, although a few of them are positive, most of them are cautionary tales. I think my daughters, especially my older two daughters, would benefit from reading portions of the book but they see the cover and topic and turn up their noses. My hope is to go back through the book and select the stories that are the most applicable to their lives, best matches for age and social situation, and then attempt to get them to read a few sections. I do talk to my daughters about social media and attempt to make some points about wise practices concerning social media. They seem to have digested a lot of these points but I do believe they are at risk, as any American female teenager would be, of ending up in a difficult and/or negative situation on social media. This book is very good at exploring the problem. It puts little effort into solving the problem. I don’t blame Ms. Sales as solutions don’t appear easy. She has crafted a brief conclusion section where she enumerates the traditional responses and that’s fine. Her final point is the most critical: there is no substitute for awareness of the problem and being active and present for our daughters as they, and their generation, struggle through an issue like no generation has faced before. May we all find the wisdom, grace and courage to help our daughters through these trials. Wesley Bob ( US ) on Sun 25th Sep, 2016

★★★★ The Secret Lives Of "some" Teenagers But Not All In reviewing the book “Social Media and the Secret Lives of Teenagers” by I found myself physically sick while listening to it. Initially this book stunned me with its bold crass language that was so unfiltered and raw. The reality that these words came from young teens was just heartbreaking. I decided to do the audio version of this book and found it very powerful to hear the words of these girls who were a part of the study in this book. The voices in the audio version screamed for our attention as readers to hear the heart of girls who are desperately seeking our help to save them from what they know they need rescuing from.I had decided to look at it from a position defending the opposite side to which this books position takes as a way to see the whole picture. I tend to want to root for the underdog in any competition and this book takes such a bold stance that I found myself wanting to fight for the other side at times when it was rooting against social media. In the end though there is no doubt that this book makes a bold statement about girls and women in society.Girls need advocacy and respect of their feminine role so they can have their childhood be protected and grow into healthy women of purpose with a sense of confidence of who they are. Their childhood is being ripped away and there needs to a way to find protection for these girls. I think this book doesn’t really spell out the answer but is an excellent voice to say “Hey, we have a problem here! Do something!”. I do think however that this book could have made the statements it does without the raw language as a personal preference. I would rather know and listen to the heart of the girls messages rather than the language. I also think the scope of this research could have been more balanced in taking a look at teens of all backgrounds and look at the positive aspects of social media for some girls. Michele Brantley ( US ) on Wed 14th Sep, 2016

★★★★ I Like How It Covers A Lot Of States And Cities It's very informative and very well done research. I like how it covers a lot of states and cities, it gives you bases for comparison. Amazon Customer ( US ) on Tue 26th Jul, 2016

★★★★ Man Bashing And White Flogging. If you enjoy reading about how bad men are or if you are a white person who loves to flog themselves for their race, this book is for you. The first chapter of this book was amazing, but it's just a lure for the constant bashing of men in chapters to follow. The author puts an unnecessary emphasis on race at times, making it seem like people are inherently bad because they are white. There is also a tremendous amount of hypocrisy in the interviews of the girls. This book portrays all men as evil, porn obsessed, sexual deviants who only exist to overthrow feminism and to entrap women in marriage.Avoid at all costs. Amazon Customer ( US ) on Mon 25th Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Honest And Timely--A Necessary Read For All First of all, this writer has her finger on the pulse of the teenage world of social media. As I read, I could picture many of my different students I had this semester (I'm a high school English teacher), many of whom faced constant trouble on social media, i.e., misreading/misunderstanding a boy’s post, an ambiguous picture at a party, or a lewd comment left by a stranger.The book takes on a feminist framework, but doesn’t do so in a pedantic way. She teases out different shades of feminism which have been part and parcel of the movement’s evolutionary tract over decades. She centers her discussion on tangled issues of our hyper-sexualized culture that has been fueled by the pervasive pornographic aesthetic which permeates almost all social media, i.e., booty and butt pics ad nasuem. On of her best questions from the book is when Sales questions if this normalization of rampant pornography found online is demeaning to women (as many early feminists would argue) or is it a source of empowerment (as late feminists believe).Furthermore, the book sympathizes with the teenage girl dilemma, specifically the anxiety that comes with navigating a social network in which boys seem to hold more power over girls. She goes into depth, illustrating how a girl is often asked for nude pics, and must then play a difficult game of refusing, but not refusing in a way that would elicit the label of “prude”. The author shows that one of the best ways is for a girl to just “laugh and tell the boy they are crazy.”–that way, the girl can’t be seen as having “no chill”.As far a structure, Sales’ book follows a back-and-forth styled reading of interview and essay. She has done great work interviewing teenagers who seem real, knowledgeable, and can provide the authentic insight for the parents who may seem too busy to actually see what’s going on with their daughter’s Instagram profile. This flip-flopping from teen testimony to historical and current analysis of “social-sharing technologies” aligned with feminism, is a stellar way to map an uncomfortable, unrelenting, and unknown (for some parents) region of teenage obsession. I highly recommend this to any parent, teacher, administrator, or friend who feels they need an honest illustration of the digital social environments our children are wading through with both excitement and dread. Brandon M. Standing ( US ) on Fri 22nd Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Heard The Author Speak On A Morning Talk Show And ... Heard the author speak on a morning talk show and immediately went on line to get copies for both my daughter and sister with preteen kids. Cathy ( US ) on Sat 16th Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Great Book Amazing book, so many people want to read it. Quick delivery. Great Merchandise, thanks:) Amazon Customer ( US ) on Thu 14th Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Loved The Book I bought this book for a graduate class book club. I was totally facinated by every chapter of it. I grew up in the early years of Internet chat rooms and saw MySpace and facebook from their inception on. I'm getting my master's degree in education to be a teacher and this book has she'd some light on today's teens and their use of social media. It's shocking, even looking back and remembering things I was exposed to online as a kid. The conclusion was pretty dull. *spoiler: The author concludes that porn is the culprit of why kids are behaving the way they do with their social media apps. In my book club, my group and I discussed that it goes much deeper. It's the sense of validation that everyone wants combined with lack of empathy, thrown in with the hypersexualization of women. Krista G. ( US ) on Fri 8th Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Five Stars A must read for anyone associated with teens! Definitely eye-opening! Paula ( US ) on Thu 7th Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Five Stars thanks rob rochlin ( US ) on Mon 4th Jul, 2016

Read more reviews »

Sponsored Items

American Girls Social Media and the Secret Lives of Teenagers

* Reviews last refreshed on 2016-Dec-02 *

Ratings table is based on all reviews held in our database (compiled from multiple sources), and may vary from individual sites.