Ratings

All Time Rating : 88% ★★★★
4.4 out of 5 (Based on 36 Reviews)
30 Days Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
3 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
6 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
12 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
* Ratings & Reviews last refreshed on 2016-07-12 (see below)

Price History


Recent Reviews

★★★★★ Five Stars Great intro Ksv ( UK ) on Wed 22nd Jun, 2016

★★★★ A Book For Beginners This Book is an excellent starter guide for a beginner. Unfortunately I was familiar with about half of these lessons.=Positives=+Great for COMPLETE beginners+Puts coding into a fun, and interesting task, so you could give this to a child about as young as 10.=Negatives=-DO NOT buy if you have even the slightest knowledge of coding, such as binary, or being able to change the name on a website for a session.Overall this book is for complete beginners Edward C ( UK ) on Sat 21st May, 2016

★★★★★ Older Pupil. As a more mature pupil, I find the tech side challenging, but not impossible to follow the book contains useful links , , I cannot see most of the examples, as I am using a e reader ,so I just squint , and move on , I don't think this detracts although I am a newbe to codeing, so am unqualified to know.. I have learned a frightenly large amount in a short space of time, so it must be worth buying, I was a sceptic about learning to code, but once i turned the first page its easier than I anticipated Peter Lane ( UK ) on Tue 19th Apr, 2016

★★★★★ Five Stars Great buy, excellent book. martin austin ( UK ) on Fri 8th Apr, 2016

★★★★★ Five Stars Just what I wanted Mike F ( UK ) on Wed 30th Mar, 2016

★★★★ Four Stars still reading but very interesting Ken Brunt ( UK ) on Tue 1st Dec, 2015

★★★★★ Five Stars I am very happy with this purchase. Thomas ( UK ) on Wed 4th Nov, 2015

★★★★★ Fab Great book. Fast delivery. maxine harmon ( UK ) on Mon 12th Oct, 2015

★★★★ Nice Place To Start ... As a non-coder, I found this an interesting and useful book to kick me off.Rather than plunging in with difficult code, this book takes a gentle step by step approach to coding. It also lured me to the associated codeacademy website, a site my teenage children had already found very useful for their programming.It tries to encourage the right behaviours for coding – it encourages a proper research, design, code and debug approach. Coding is not abstract but a tool for achieving things.Wanting to code but not sure how to take the first steps – this is a good place to start. Richard Murphy ( UK ) on Wed 2nd Sep, 2015

★★★★★ Great Resource For Beginning Coders It was great. The download option was instant and I synced it to all my devices on iOS and Mac OS using the Kindle app. It's a great resource! Ricky Williams ( CA ) on Fri 28th Aug, 2015

★★★★★ This Is A Good Beginners Programming Book  I feel this is a genuine beginners programming book. It starts of really simple and the layout is inviting. I'm keen to dip my toe in once more to programming and go through this book as a refresher and get myself up to date with newer programming languages. Stephen Luff ( UK ) on Wed 29th Jul, 2015

★★★★★ Very Useful This is a great book for a beginner. I really got a lot out of it.I felt that for me it was pitched at just the right level. Unlike a lot of books at this level it didn'tgo into far too much detail at the start and then rushed through the more advanced topics.Obiously it is a "for dummies" book and follows that format. The Emperor ( UK ) on Sat 25th Jul, 2015

★★★★★ This Is Where You Begin I'm a professional full-stack thin-client developer and I found this book to be an excellent entry level read for anyone wishing to get into programming. The author gently slips the reader into the topic by first providing some background context for the current technologies. The book then begins to dip into the fundamental and most simple examples that provide a very solid foundation upon which to build. The rationalisation of choices throughout the book are intelligent and avoid talking down to the reader, instead offering practical and proven methods to get started. In particular, practice is by far the best way to learn coding, particularly when the objective is to produce a real-world solution. The author recommends online tools that lack any barriers to entry both technical and financial, so everyone has a chance to get started without facing any roadblocks.I found the writing style very easy to follow and I will be recommending this book to all people who ask me that very challenging question; "How do I get into programming." This is definitely the first place to start and I recommend that all readers pay very close attention to the nuggets of wisdom spread throughout the book as they will serve you well as a compass to build up your skills and one day be able to call yourself a programmer. Paul Tinsley ( UK ) on Mon 20th Jul, 2015

★★★★ Excellent For Those Starting Out In The Field Reliable and solid introduction to coding and as with most in the dummies range it is accessible but suitably detailed, enabling you to code fromscratch. Coding is actually a fascinating subject for those of a certain mindset and very quickly you have picked up the rudiments of the discipline and can read the code behind websites etc as well as starting to experiment with your own attempts at standard coding. Excellent for those starting out in the field. Zipster Zeus ( UK ) on Sun 19th Jul, 2015

★★★★★ A Pointless Book. Okay, so I'm an ex-programmer. I'm not the person who this is really aimed at.But to be honest, I can't see who this is actually aimed at either.It doesn't teach you coding basics, though it does have some short examples, in fact it doesn't even teach you something as basic as creating a new folder for each project you develop - something I taught my fellow students when I attended Uni as a mature student.There are many books out there that actually do teach programming, and I own a few of them for Visual Basic and Delphi (plus c++ and Java and...) These can be really good. This one is just pointless. The author doesn't even get some of the examples right. It introduces the terms Waterfall and Interative programming as examples of linear and agile program types, when they are both examples of a linear program: A decision tree is an example of "agile coding," though personally I hate that phrase.The only good thing about this book (other than the massive improvement in quality of paper) is that it introduces several languages that are relevant to modern, online systems.If you're interested in learning to program, I'd suggest either going to your local college.Give this a miss. JBV ( UK ) on Thu 16th Jul, 2015

Read more reviews »

Sponsored Items

Coding For Dummies

* Reviews last refreshed on 2016-Jul-12 *

Ratings table is based on all reviews held in our database (compiled from multiple sources), and may vary from individual sites.