Ratings

All Time Rating : 88% ★★★★
4.4 out of 5 (Based on 16 Reviews)
30 Days Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
3 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
6 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
12 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
* Ratings & Reviews last refreshed on 2016-07-12 (see below)

Price History


Recent Reviews

★★★★★ Five Stars A useful read. Sarah PW ( UK ) on Sat 7th May, 2016

★★★★ Easy To Understand Very practical, easy to understand, and user friendly. Can be very eye opening and helpful for self-understanding and to understand the dynamic in one's family, thus being very depathologizing. Brian ( CA ) on Wed 9th Mar, 2016

★★★★★ Five Stars Excellent service and a timeless book that anybody can use. Pauline Barnett ( UK ) on Thu 18th Feb, 2016

★★★★★ Three Stars Some parts are a bit on the 'obvious' side, this being said, this book has several very powerful messages. Nature / Food / Music lov ( CA ) on Sun 21st Dec, 2014

★★★★ Family Is Everything! it was a great book to help me learn how to better get along and communicate with my family and friends wybrants ( CA ) on Sun 13th Apr, 2014

★★★★★ Invaluable Resource This is an easy to understand, user-friendly map for self-help in family relations. Based on Bowen Family Systems Therapy, it supports the reader to explore family roots and patterns, to identify and practice alternatives, in interesting and easy to manage steps that can contribute greatly to individual and family health. I've been using it myself and lending it to friends for years. It still works. S. Chandler ( CA ) on Thu 26th Nov, 2009

★★★★★ A Great Way To Get Started On Understanding Family I have been recommending this book to friends and colleagues who are struggling with family issues. It is easy to read, and yet raises very relevant and practical questions. This is the perfect bridge between the most powerful academic ideas, and practical steps for anyone to take to understand themselves, and create better relationships with their family.There are many cases presented in the book that can help you see that what you're experiencing is common, and can be worked through. The underlying structure of the book is very solid--based on Friedman's emotional systems stuff. There is a part at the end on how to research and learn from your family history, going back several generations.Finally, there is a fun chapter on family position. I think it is meant to be general, and taken with a grain of salt. Having said that, I've found the research on the link between family position and couple compatibility to be very interesting.If you like this book and want more depth, read "Generation to Generation" by Edwin Friedman. ( CA ) on Tue 5th Mar, 2002

★★★★★ Differentiation - A Key To Being And Giving I read this book on the advice of a wonderful counselor. What I found most remarkable was that the Family Systems approach confirms the crucial importance of fathers in our lives, both as men and women. It seems that in our desire to correct the injustices commited against women by selfish and angry men, we have gone too far and ignored the fact that a father's love is vitally important for both men and women to find wholeness. This book doesn't give all the answers, but it is a step towards finding healing for our brokenness and the freedom to freely give of ourselves to loved ones, friends, and all those in need around us. A good follow up read to this book is Leanne Payne's "Crisis in Masculinity". ( CA ) on Sat 31st Mar, 2001

★★★★ Brief And Superficial Disappointing in its brevity, this book is little more than a pamphlet. Despite purporting to address issues of birth order, this book provides only a few pages on the entire topic, and covers the entire realm of possible "middle" children in less than two pages, without even bothering to address the issue of gender, which are at least mentioned for other birth positions. Furthermore, it claims middle children are likely to be "confused about their identity", "less likely to take the initiative or think independently", "the lowest achievers academically and the least likely in a family to go to college", "often feel that life is unfair", "become self destructive by becoming a gang member or a petty criminal (but rarely a big-time crook). Often they will just develop annoying habits".But don't worry, "middle" children out there, according to Dr Richardson, there is a wonderful career waiting for you as a secretary or a waiter!!! I'm not sure how this is supposed to be helpful to someone hoping to understand the impact of their family of origin. ( CA ) on Sat 9th Sep, 2000

★★★★★ [ Translate ] Good Birth Order Book Richardson's early book is one of the most reasonable and non-sensational treatments on birth order and family dynamics. Goes beyond focusing on individual traits or characteristics, he takes seriously the overarching family systems theory that should inform any treatment on birth order. Israel Galindo ( DE ) on Fri 23rd Jun, 2000

★★★★★ Good Birth Order Book Richardson's early book is one of the most reasonable and non-sensational treatments on birth order and family dynamics. Goes beyond focusing on individual traits or characteristics, he takes seriously the overarching family systems theory that should inform any treatment on birth order. Israel Galindo ( CA ) on Thu 22nd Jun, 2000

★★★★★ [ Translate ] This Book Provides An Excellent Basis For Family Of Origin. This book provided valuable insight and information surrounding family of origin and birth order. It helped in understanding how and why we interact the way we do in our families. A very good basic and easy-to-read book. Excellent as a referral for clients. PaulaJC ( DE ) on Fri 22nd Oct, 1999

★★★★★ This Book Provides An Excellent Basis For Family Of Origin. This book provided valuable insight and information surrounding family of origin and birth order. It helped in understanding how and why we interact the way we do in our families. A very good basic and easy-to-read book. Excellent as a referral for clients. PaulaJC ( CA ) on Fri 22nd Oct, 1999

★★★★★ Solid Introduction To Family Emotional Systems I have recommended this book many times to people wanting a better understanding of family issues. It is readable, clear, helpful and a wonderful adjunct to family therapy or to a college course in Bowen systems. This is a great way to get started in this otherwise complex area. alex angioli ( CA ) on Wed 31st Dec, 1969

★★★★★ Great Experience! They delivered before I was expecting. Very nice book! Amazon Customer ( CA ) on Wed 31st Dec, 1969

Read more reviews »

Sponsored Items

Family Ties That Bind A self-help guide to change through Family of Origin therapy

* Reviews last refreshed on 2016-Jul-12 *

Ratings table is based on all reviews held in our database (compiled from multiple sources), and may vary from individual sites.