Ratings

All Time Rating : 94% ★★★★★
4.7 out of 5 (Based on 74 Reviews)
30 Days Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
3 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
6 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
12 Months Rating : 100% ★★★★★
5.0 out of 5 (Based on 1 Review)
* Ratings & Reviews last refreshed on 2016-09-13 (see below)

Price History


Recent Reviews

★★★★★ An Excellent, Award Winning Perormance And Recording. A wonderful, crisp recording which well deserves the award it gained. Murray P at his best (.... and he's excellent even on those rare occasions when not at his best!!). T. Denniss ( UK ) on Thu 8th Sep, 2016

★★★★★ Great Stuff. On time & as described. Great stuff. Russell Coombs ( UK ) on Wed 25th May, 2016

★★★★★ Angelic Nothing to add. Perahia in an angelic, beautiful performance Silviu ( UK ) on Wed 4th May, 2016

★★★★★ Don't Buy Any Other Version! Stunning. Murray pariah is incomparable. L. G. Gribble ( UK ) on Sat 2nd Apr, 2016

★★★★★ Relaxing Bach. Exceptionally supreme recordings Parky ( UK ) on Wed 9th Mar, 2016

★★★★★ Excellent Goldbergs This is an excellent interpretation of The Goldberg Variations. Murray Perahia is one of the truly great pianists of his generation and his Mozart in particular is quite brilliant. I have not always been wholly convinced by some of his Bach recordings, but this is a wonderful disc. His technical perfection means that the lines blend beautifully while remaining crystal clear, he has a real affinity with and understanding of the music, and he makes his piano sing with a marvellous sweetness in all the right places.At this level of technique and musicianship it is a matter of personal taste which version one likes best - a choice of tempo, perhaps, a nuance of rubato or a subtle difference in ornamentation, for example, may make one version speak to you a little more personally than another. For what it's worth, my favourite remains - just - Angela Hewitt's recording for Hyperion┬áBach: Goldberg Variations, but if I were cast away on a Desert Island with only Perahia's version I would still be very happy.In short, this is a superb interpretation with excellent recorded sound, attractive packaging and interesting notes. I really don't think you can go wrong with this disc and I recommend it very warmly. Sid Nuncius ( UK ) on Tue 23rd Feb, 2016

★★★★★ Wonderfully Easy To Listen To When I bought this, I thought it might be harder to listen to the whole lot in one go. However, some how it is just carries you along, and you can't top listening. charles whitworth ( UK ) on Mon 1st Feb, 2016

★★★★★ BRILLIANT, LIFE-AFFIRMING Once again, my thanks to the reviewers who have led me to purchase this. I've come late to the piano and to Bach. After mixed feelings about Glenn Gould, I found Perahia and I feel as if I have come home. The sheer intelligence and technical excellence of the playing are absolutely wonderful. Listening to this it is possible to feel, however briefly, that there is some purpose to it all. I cannot believe that anyone would not be a better person for listening to this. J. Woodman ( UK ) on Sun 24th Jan, 2016

★★★★★ A Recording You Will Not Grow Tired Of. I am no expert on classical music so I was guided by the very positive reviews of Murray Perahia when choosing which recording of the Goldberg Variations to buy.It is without doubt one of the most beautiful pieces of music I have listened to and I never grow tired of hearing it again and again. I think the only thing that would better this would be to hear Murray perform the piece live! Rory ( UK ) on Wed 20th Jan, 2016

★★★★★ Goldberg Variations AQ great version of these suites as allways played by MURRAY . a bargain from Amazon. You can not get this from HMV its any wonder they have gone under they never really catered for the classical lover! Stephen Wood ( UK ) on Sat 16th Jan, 2016

★★★★★ A Sublime Performance And Recording - But Not Necessarily A "safe" Recommendation A while back I did some intensive comparative listening to various recordings of the Goldbergs in the company of a professional musician/composer/keyboard performer friend. I wanted to try to ensure that the perceptions of my educated but essentially amateur ears were tempered by measurement against a more rigorous and informed judgment. Reassuringly, our conclusions were remarkably similar: we agreed that this performance was our clear favourite alongside the more idiosyncratic interpretations of Glenn Gould. However, both Gould's recordings - the marvellously frenetic and unstuffy 1955 version and the more reposeful and even mystical account from 1981 - might perhaps be considered more as fancy-dress for party-going rather than everyday wear and as much as I would not want to be without either of those life-affirming discs, Perahia's account is the one to live with.The Goldbergs are one of those Mt Bach peaks in a range of solo instrument mountains: the Cello Suites, the Well-tempered Clavier and the Violin Sonatas and Partitas. Responses to them and opinions concerning how they should be performed are necessarily personal but I find it hard to accept that a product of the Baroque, an artistic movement characterised by emotional extremes and excess, should require a performer to play safe and avoid "Romantic" touches. Bach evidently expected exponents of his music to elaborate and embellish the repeats, making judicious use of decoration and rubato - both within the bar and within the phrase - to enliven them. Perahia extends these variations to 75 minutes by observation of those repeats and it would be absurd if he did not invest them with a variety and colour which some period purists apparently find objectionable.We agreed in our listening session that Schiff was, well, just plain dull and correct. High-priestess Rosalyn Tureck was just that: hieratic and self-conscious in the ritualised way she plays. Neither celebrated artist brings the same joie de vivre evinced by Gould and Perahia; their reverential interpretations are for the listener the equivalent of viewing the Goldbergs as a museum piece through a glass case rather than experiencing the music as a thrilling spritual journey which ends in the repose of the transcendent "still point" provided by Bach's return to the arietta with which he opened the work.The sound engineering is the finest for a piano recording that I know. Some reviewers complain that we can hear Perahia's fingernails clicking on the keys, which I take more to be testament to the clarity of the recording. I have news for them: people have fingernails, pianists are people - live with it. Next they'll be complaining about singers' breathing.No; Perahia's interpretation is not "safe"; it's life-enhancing, from his filigree prestidigitation in fast movements, to the wise and humane contemplation in the "Black Pearl" variation, to the grace of his phrasing and the subtlety of his pedalling, this is a clear first recommendation. Ralph Moore ( UK ) on Sat 16th Jan, 2016

★★★★★ Top Interpretation Of Bach's Goldberg Variations. Nothing Not To Love. Murray Perahia's perfect and sensitive rendering of the genius of J S Bach's Goldberg Variations. Beautiful listening, heavenly. paula rowe ( UK ) on Thu 7th Jan, 2016

★★★★★ Murray Is Magical The previous reviewers of this work are spot on - I am a new listener to classical music and was guided toward Murray Perahia's Goldberg variations by my grandfather. I find myself listening to it again and again to sample the flow and clarity of the notes one more time. Fantastic! Sarah Lyon ( UK ) on Thu 7th Jan, 2016

★★★★★ Five Stars A1 Amicable ( UK ) on Wed 23rd Dec, 2015

★★★★★ A Good Choice. A pleasing rendition, expressive where required and gripping overall: well recorded. Consumer MW ( UK ) on Sat 19th Dec, 2015

Read more reviews »

Sponsored Items

Goldberg Variationen

* Reviews last refreshed on 2016-Sep-13 *

Ratings table is based on all reviews held in our database (compiled from multiple sources), and may vary from individual sites.