Ratings

All Time Rating : 90% ★★★★★
4.5 out of 5 (Based on 61 Reviews)
30 Days Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
3 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
6 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
12 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
* Ratings & Reviews last refreshed on 2016-07-09 (see below)

Price History


Recent Reviews

★★★★ Hugely Promising Debut This album is a real treat for fans of the first few Dio albums. Just about every track has echoes of tracks from the Dio albums Vivian Campbell played on, and they're sure to bring a smile to every Dio fan of old.The album itself is solid with a good mix of tempos, albeit mostly in the mid-pace range. Singer Andrew Freeman slots in beautifully, with a style a little like Chris Cornell or Scott Weiland singing hard rock.If I've one criticism of the album it's that it's really missing a killer track to hang everything from - the Holy Diver or Rainbow in the Dark of the album. But that aside, it's a hugely promising debut and hopefully the passing of Jimmy Bain won't put the brakes on a musical grouping that could really flourish. Michael Hartland ( UK ) on Fri 8th Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Five Stars Finally great to hear Vivian play like that again Amazon Customer ( US ) on Tue 5th Jul, 2016

★★★★ Hopefully *not* The Last In Line As others have said, the subsequent death of Jimmy Bain tinges this release with a slight sadness, but as sonic sendoffs go, this is as good as could have been hoped for. It could have been a bunch of jaded old hands retreading old ground for the cash, let's face it, but to me this maintains the classic Dio 80s sound with a punchier, more modern overlay.Whilst no-one could ever "replace" Dio, Andrew Freeman certainly gives a spirited, powerful performance on vocals, and there's some solid songwriting here. I saw the band live before they made this, and it sounded excellent - again it remains to be seen if there will ever be more dates given Campbell's commitment to Def Leppard, and the passing of Bain, but certainly well worth checking out if it does happen. Tim Jenkins ( UK ) on Mon 4th Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Five Stars Dio esq of course great album michael thresher ( UK ) on Tue 28th Jun, 2016

★★★★★ [ Translate ] Bon Album Bon album joué par d'anciens musiciens du célèbre RJ DioJimmy Bain nous a quitté depuis. RIP JIMMY. RIP RJ DIO.Long live Rock'n Roll janus ( FR ) on Sat 4th Jun, 2016

★★★★ Welcome Back Vivian Campbell... Welcome back Vivian Campbell... amazing 80s sounding rock ribcage... turn it up loud and enjoy Mr U.N. Sensible ( UK ) on Tue 31st May, 2016

★★★★ This Is My Dream Team Before I give my review of this long awaited album, I must first state that I am a huge Vivian Campbell and Vinny Appice fan. I consider them to be the best of the best at what they do. Vivian Campbell has always been and forever will be my favorite guitarist of all time based on the work he did on Dio 1, 2, and 3 alone. I have never heard anyone play like that…and I come from the 70’s and 80’s era where virtually every rock and metal band had an amazing guitarist. First off, I have to say that I have mixed feelings about this album. I really wanted to hear songs similar to We Rock, Stand Up and Shout, I Speed at Night, and Don’t Talk to Strangers, but sadly they are nowhere to be found. So if you are buying this album to hear old school Dio, sorry folks, you’re not going to get it here. When I first listened to this album, I thought to myself, this sounds like radio rock. I have always considered Dio to be somewhere between hard rock and metal with little to no radio play. I guess from an artist standpoint, you want your music to be heard by a larger audience, but for hard core rock and metal fans radio play is usually the kiss of death. If you are accustomed to old school Dio like I am, this album will seem like typical mainstream rock in a day and age where all modern day rock bands sound the same. At times, the lead singer’s voice, Andrew Freeman, sounds a bit muted as though he is singing from inside a box. Admittedly, Freeman does an acceptable job at singing, the problem is that he is not Ronnie James Dio. I know, I know, I know he’s not supposed to be, but when you name your band Last in Line, you are sort of inviting in comparison to Dio. I think Freeman’s voice would be better if it were pure and unadulterated by studio effects, not to mention a bit louder on each track. There is no doubt that Vivian Campbell can still play the ax like nobody’s business and he proves it over and over again in virtually every song on this album, but it doesn’t quite rival the work he did in Dio 1, 2, or 3. That being said, you are still getting some pretty crafty guitar work in this album, but then again Vivian Campbell can make a stringless guitar sound great. Vinny Appice sounds great and does the best he can do with these slower paced songs. Again, not quite Dio 1, 2, or 3, but acceptable drum work none the less. Jimmy Bain is Jimmy Bain, no complaints there, but I do think his bass playing could be more prominent on the album. I am surprised to read how many reviewers think this album sounds like early Dio. I’m sorry, but I don’t hear it and I know Dio 1, 2, and 3 really, really well. Either the reviewers have forgotten what Dio sounds like or they are part of the slightly younger generation that came into Dio after these guys left. If anything, I hear Def Leppard more than I do old school Dio, which may be attributed to that that “radio rock” sound I already mentioned. If you want to remind yourself of early Dio; especially as it relates to Vivian Campbell then go to YouTube and type in “Vivian Campbell: Some Lead Moments” and watch the clip. Overall, this album lacks the full throttle speed and ferocity of Dio 1, 2, and 3 and instead delivers a much more subdued, but perhaps more marketable sound. Putting all comparisons to Dio aside, this really isn’t a bad album. Every song on this album is decent. I will also say that this album grows on you the more you listen to it. Yes, the music is a tad slower and a tad softer than what I was expecting, but then again, so are the band members, and then again, so am I. To be fair, you can’t expect a modern day band to play 80’s style hard rock in 2016 and be successful beyond the usual diehard fans. You can’t expect them to mimic Dio either and be successful. And you certainly can’t expect them to do the same things they did in the 20’s and 30’s. Different energy level and different motivations then. These guys have to be who they are now, and that is why I am keeping an open mind about this album and the future of Last in Line. Despite being the original band members of Dio, they somehow intentionally or unintentionally have produced a new sound. Yes, at times you hear snippets of old school Vivian Campbell, Vinny Appice, and Jimmy Bain, but mostly what you get is an original sound with hints of nostalgic familiarity. I look forward to seeing this band live, despite Jimmy Bain’s tragic departure from the band. I also look forward to seeing more albums produced by this band in the future. More than anything else, I am just grateful to hear these guys playing together again, especially Vivian Campbell who has taken the backseat for far too long. Its time for him to play again, the way he was meant to play. Play Vivian, play. Adam A. Wynn ( US ) on Mon 30th May, 2016

★★★★★ The DVD Is Superb! An absolutely fantastic album with a classic Dio sound.It's great to see a lot of the guys on the DVD chatting about the new album and their past works.This DVD is possibly the best DVD I've ever had as an add on to an album. A lot of bonus DVD's simply give you a music video and a ten minute interview which seems a bit lacking. Thinking it might be a ten minute watch I ended up sticking this on whilst the fiancée cooked my tea... Well, I'm still here watching the DVD hours later! Absolutely top value for money and invaluable for collectors and lovers of the artists.Jimmy Bain - the hero, gone, but not forgotten lays down some class bass here. It's great to see so many interviews with him here.Appice, Campbell, Bain and Freeman all seem to have a lot of fun playing together and a lot of the tracks will have you hooked upon the first listen.Freeman does not pretend to be Dio, he's got a superb set of lungs on him and a cool style, but you can tell that this is the Dio band. INDALOTOM ( UK ) on Thu 26th May, 2016

★★★★★ Five Stars BADASS!!!! Amazon Customer ( US ) on Mon 23rd May, 2016

★★★★★ Great Raw Rock From A Great Era It could have been the next Dio album after Sacer Heart Xavier A.T. ( US ) on Thu 19th May, 2016

★★★★★ Five Stars please with cd and delivery service thanks Krystyna Moody ( UK ) on Sun 15th May, 2016

★★★★★ Last In Line Is Outstanding! I think this is one of the best CDs of 2016. Every aspect of this CD is great, the songs, musicianship. This is a kickass rock n roll, if you love this genre of music this CD should be on your phone. c casas ( US ) on Sun 15th May, 2016

★★★★★ Devil In Me! Awesome album! I crank it all the time! Bob ( US ) on Tue 10th May, 2016

★★★★★ Get You Some... Good Stuff!!!! Every Song is just what I was hoping for... This is what Rock music is !!! Get you some... Ken A. Williams ( US ) on Mon 9th May, 2016

★★★★ Four Stars Good solid heavy album n.m.gater ( UK ) on Sun 8th May, 2016

Read more reviews »

Sponsored Items

Heavy Crown

* Reviews last refreshed on 2016-Jul-09 *

Ratings table is based on all reviews held in our database (compiled from multiple sources), and may vary from individual sites.