Ratings

All Time Rating : 84% ★★★★
4.2 out of 5 (Based on 72 Reviews)
30 Days Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
3 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
6 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
12 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
* Ratings & Reviews last refreshed on 2016-07-13 (see below)

Price History


Recent Reviews

★★★★★ A Fun Romp For The Series Fans, But May Feel A Little Too 'in-crowd' For New Readers Honky Tonk Samurai is not the best novel in the Hap & Leonard series, but it may be the most fun for longtime readers. Our duo of mismatched anti-heroes accept a missing persons case. A young woman has been missing for five years and now her elderly dying grandmother wants closure. It does not take long for the good guys to stumble onto a plot involving the Dixie Mafia (the staple villains of the series), antique cars, and prostitution.The narrative is sort of centered around two extended action sequences, both involving cars, lots of guns, and piles of dead bodies. In between, we are treated to lots of famously crude and descriptive Lansdale prose like:“The front windshield collapsed like a Baptist deacon’s morals at a strip club.”“Someone doesn’t know the difference between diarrhea and hamburger gravy.”“I could feel my skin crawling as if it were trying to tear off my bones and make for home.”“She’s got legs so long you want to climb her like a tree. Least up to where it forks.”“It wasn’t much of a door, and it wasn’t much of a lock. It came undone as easy as a whore’s bra.”Hap and Leonard mostly fight and wisecrack with each other. Most of the “detecting” is done off-screen by other characters. For this purpose, Lansdale brings back many fan-favorite characters from other books: Cason Statler (Leather Maiden), Booger (Hot in December), Jim Bob Luke (Cold in July), Marvin Hanson (Act of Love), plus of course Vanilla Ride.The effect of all these cameos is that this novel feels too much like it was written for the in-crowd, rather than a book that can stand on its own merits. For longtime fans, however, it is a fun romp.This is also the first Hap and Leonard to end on a real cliffhanger which definitely left me waiting for the follow-up book, Rusty Puppies, due out next year. Craig ( US ) on Mon 4th Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Lansdale Magic.. Can't wait to read it. All the other Hap and Leonard are great too. Randall C Hertz ( US ) on Mon 20th Jun, 2016

★★★★ One Star I stopped caring about the characters and the story very early. I never finished the book. Prudence ( US ) on Sun 19th Jun, 2016

★★★★ East Texas Rednecks Stirring Up Trouble Well Hap and Leonard are back, along with Brett, and a lengthy appearance by Jim Bob Luke. This is one of the weaker books in the series, there is too much back and forth dialogue between Hap, Leonard, and when present Jim Bob, and the story takes forever to get going, but the last 90 pages make it well worth the ride. P. M. ( US ) on Thu 9th Jun, 2016

★★★★★ 5 Star Seller Brand new book at a fantastic priceDelivered in a few daysPacked xtra for protection michael schwartz ( US ) on Thu 9th Jun, 2016

★★★★ [ Translate ] OK - Aber Nicht Mehr So Orginell Und Orginal Wie Die Ersten Aber wie auch, ist ja schon das neune. Langsam aber sicher ist die Hap & Leonard Charme aufgebraucht. Warum: Nebensächlichkeiten werden zig mal erwähnt (Vanilla Cookies). Die Feuergefechte werden immer unglaubwürdiger. Hap nimmt Fingerabdrücke ?!?!?. Trotzdem lesenswert als Fan.Und für die Fans eine wichtige Info: Die Novella Briar Patch Boogie spielt zeitlich nach "Honky Tonk Samurai". McNulty ( DE ) on Tue 7th Jun, 2016

★★★★★ No Stereotypes In This Novel Amazing and unqiue characters in a suspenseful plot. Lansdale takes on a roller coaster of emotions with twists and turns you'd never expect out of a book based in Texas. Yeehaw! Stephen Garner ( CA ) on Fri 3rd Jun, 2016

★★★★★ Very Good Book. Funny, violent, interesting book. Very good. TRR ( US ) on Tue 31st May, 2016

★★★★ Lansdale Is One Of My Favorite Authors, Largely Based On The Thicket Honky Tonk Samurai is the eleventh book in author Joe Lansdale’s Hap & Leonard series, which also includes a TV show bearing their names on the Sundance Channel. Mr. Lansdale is one of my favorite authors, largely based on The Thicket, which was a great work of historical fiction that went beyond genre expectations. Honky Tonk Samurai is my first featuring Hap & Leonard. Hap & Leonard are working for friend Marvin Hanson at his private detective firm. While on a relatively simple job, Leonard finds himself taking justice into his own hands when he sees a man abusing a dog. Just as it seems the two will walk away from Leonard’s vigilantism unscathed, a crass old woman comes to the detective agency with video of the incident that would not only cause problems for Leonard, but their friend, the newly appointed police chief. But the old woman isn’t interested in money, instead she wants Hap and Leonard to look for her missing granddaughter, Sandy, the only family she has left. Sandy was last known to be working for a classic car dealer before disappearing five years ago. Without much choice, they take the case, and find that Sandy’s disappearance is part of prostitution, bribery, and murder associated with the sale of overpriced classic cars. One of the reasons I’m a fan of Lansdale is the dynamic characters in his novels. Honky Tonk Samurai does not disappoint. In addition to those I presume make regular appearances in the series are a family of inbred serial killers and a sexy transgendered front woman for the classic car business. Those characters are surrounded by clever, if not a little overused, writing.“As an old gray-haired addict called Two-Toe George told me and Leonard once, ‘When you start wanting meth more than you want p#*sy or a rib-eye steak, then you know you got, like, a serious f#$king drug problem’Two-Toe George was a philosopher” But for as many snide, funny, sometimes hilariously vulgar lines (“You could have pushed me down with a hummingbird fart”), there were also much more profound sections, reflections on life and death, aging, fatherhood, religion, and more.“One some level, like the samurai of old, you have accepted your death. You are neither there to win or to lose. You are there to be in the moment… I might add right here that I say f&%k the samurai. I planned to win. I planned to go home… And as that thought galloped through my head, another less pleasant thought showed up. Sometimes your luck runs out.” There were times that some of the wise-cracking, bad-a$$ing, adversarial but affectionate bantering got a bit thick for my tastes, but it never took away from either the story, characters, and colorful action and violence. It is difficult for any author to keep characters interesting and dynamic after eleven books, but Mr. Lansdale has done that and more. Book twelve, Rusty Puppy, is due out in 2017, and I’m looking forward to more of Hap & Leonard. George Lichman ( US ) on Fri 20th May, 2016

★★★★ An Acquired Taste - Not For Every Reader If you are a Hap and Leonard fan, I don't have to say much about this book. While perhaps not the best of the series, it's fun to follow Hap and Leonard on their rambunctious quest to locate a spicy old woman's missing granddaughter. I find Joe Lansdale to be a great storyteller, and as usual Hap and Leonard's latest quest is full of violence, quirky characters, profanity, and humor. Was thrilled to find two of my favorite characters, Jim Bob and Vanilla Ride, taking part in the action. If you like this pair of unorthodox private eyes (yes, they are now official PIs)—the tough, black, gay Vietnam vet and the white trash former 60s activist—by all means join them in their action-packed adventure. MaineGirl ( US ) on Wed 18th May, 2016

★★★★★ Highly Recommend!! What a clever and fun book! The characters are well-developed and the action makes this a real page-turner. connie ( US ) on Sat 14th May, 2016

★★★★ Always Entertaining I've liked every book I've read by Lansdale and this was no exception. I think his stand-alone novels are his best, but Hap and Leonard never fail to entertain. Mark P. ( US ) on Fri 13th May, 2016

★★★★★ Another Winner A fun read as usual flyfishr ( US ) on Tue 10th May, 2016

★★★★★ Fantastic Book From One Of The Greats Easily one of the best books I've read in years. If you aren't familiar with Lansdale's writing, you owe it to yourself to change that immediately. Hap and Leonard are two well-written, intriguing characters whose personalities all but leap off the page. Benjamin ( US ) on Sun 8th May, 2016

★★★★ Get Ready To Have Some Laugh Out Loud Moments!!! Hap and Leonard are a great pair who have a sense of humour surrounding them that makes one laugh while they are enjoying their adventures. Joe R Lansdale tells a great story which is not a difficult read but it does have some dramatic moments that make a difference. This book was actually a departure from his norm with the event that occurs.I found this story to be a little weaker than normal, while not wanting to give away any spoilers, what was kept in the jars....was this necessary? What was the point? Did I miss something plus the final confrontation was very anti-climactic. I expected a lot more considering how things were built up.That being said, I really enjoy the laid back writing style of Mr Lansdale, he is so talented and has so many laughs during the book.To be honest, you are not going to get a writing style along the lines of a poetic James Lee Burke but you will get an author who writes a fun and enjoyable read featuring two really quality heroes.I have been reading the Hap and Leonard books for 2 decades and hope to have 2 more decades at least of fun. Peter ( US ) on Wed 4th May, 2016

Read more reviews »

Sponsored Items

Honky Tonk Samurai Hap and Leonard

* Reviews last refreshed on 2016-Jul-13 *

Ratings table is based on all reviews held in our database (compiled from multiple sources), and may vary from individual sites.