Ratings

All Time Rating : 52% ★★★★★
2.6 out of 5 (Based on 16 Reviews)
30 Days Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
3 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
6 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
12 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
* Ratings & Reviews last refreshed on 2016-07-17 (see below)

Price History


Recent Reviews

★★★★★ So Good, Can Connect To Co And Smoke Alarm And ... so good , can connect to co and smoke alarm and garage door thomas chen ( CA ) on Fri 15th Jul, 2016

★★★★ Do Not Buy This Hub Very poor hub, customer support is basically a waste of time. Do not buy this hub. John Pilon ( CA ) on Mon 23rd May, 2016

★★★★ Four Stars Glad to have this and a water sensor, for when i was away from home. Amazon Customer ( CA ) on Fri 20th May, 2016

★★★★ Works For Me!! Seems to work for me. I had the V2 since Dec 2015 it seemed to work fine up until the last firmware update. For some reason the antenna range dropped and it stopped communicating with 2 Z wave switches. I tried everything to connect to the HUB no dice. So I purchased Aeon range extenders from Amazon and reconnected the switches to the hub and all seems to be back in line and the routines are running with no issue. I had contacted SmartThings support and spoke to Jake several times thru email he was very helpful, and concerned that the system stopped working. He had given some advise on what to try and also helped on getting Echo to reconnect to the switches. I am very tech savvy and even have built interfaces for my alarm system to tie other peripherals to it. This is pretty much a no brainer and easy to setup. I had an X10 system is my home for 10 yrs and struggled from time to time to make certain peripherals to work, so pretty use to the hit or miss aspect of this technology. Tom C ( US ) on Wed 16th Mar, 2016

★★★★ Four Stars it's ok Amazon Customer ( US ) on Wed 16th Mar, 2016

★★★★ Smartthings Needs To Get Their Act Together This would be a good product if the Smartthings programmers could get their acts together. I have been dealing with a known issue where I have to uninstall security and reinstall and reconfigure frequently, a known issue that apparently they cannot fix. My presence sensors stopped working, and I frequently find the security has disarmed itself. Not trustworthy enough to be considered a security solution. M C Arnold ( US ) on Wed 16th Mar, 2016

★★★★ OK As A Toy And For Non Critical Home Automation But fails miserably as a security system. Constant false alarms. Have to re-initialize and add devices back after software updates. Devices periodically and arbitrarily get removed from hub. Got tired of having a science fair project for home automation/security and gave it to my kids as a toy. Matt D ( US ) on Wed 16th Mar, 2016

★★★★ A Very Powerful Platform, Much Better User Experience But A Steep Learning Curve Unless You Know Where To Look I've been a user of SmartThing since the early days of the 1st Generation Hub. It's been one heck of a journey.Quick comparison, it's much easier to use than Vera, more powerful and flexible than Wink. Overall the possibilities with this hub is endless.The best way to describe the experience with SmartThings is AWESOME! Awe as in the power of what it can do but at the same time it needs a lot of handholding. Think of it as building blocks to build your dream home and futuring experience. You can do a bunch of simple things like remotely locking your door, programming your thermostat, checking for open door/windows, water leaks etc. That's the basic stuff. However if you really want to excel at this you' can have an AWESOME experience but you'll need some hand holding and help to get there. Unfortunately while SmartThings is just the platform you can find a VERY active helpful community to help you get what you want from this.So after tinkering with this for over two years a few of us decided to get together an create a bunch of Apps that allow you to extract the most out of this SmartThings hub. All you need a bunch of Z-Wave devices like Schlage Connect Camelot Touchscreen Deadbolt with Built-In Alarm, Satin Nickel, BE469 CAM 619, Garage Door Controller like GoControl/Linear GD00Z-4 Z-Wave Garage Door Opener Remote Controller, Small, Black Monoprice Z-Wave motion sensors for about 21 bucks, Ecolink Z-Wave Door/Window Sensor (DWZWAVE2-ECO) and maybe things like a Z-Wave Water Sensor or even WiFi Cameras like Foscam FI9821P Plug & Play Megapixel 1.0 Megapixel 1280 x 720 Wireless/Wired Pan/Tilt IP Camera with IR-Cut (Black) or the All New Fabulous Battery Operated Blink Camera (Blink Smart Home HD Monitor & Alert System, 100% Wire-Free - 1 Camera). Once you have these basics here are a few things you can do:1. When you and the family leave the house, the garage door closes, the doors lock up, the lights turn off, the thermostats change to eco settings and you get a confirmation that all doors/windows are closed and locked! It also arms the security system and turns on the camera to detect for motion.2. When a family member comes home, it disarms the security system, opens your garage door and unlocks your front door.3. If your family comes into town or you have a friend coming over, you can remotely create a lock code for them to use. When use it, the door unlocks, security system disarms, the audio system greets them by name, the camera takes a picture and send it to you to confirm they're arrived home safely.4. If there's a water leak in the house, it sets off the alarm, send you a message and turns off the mains to the house (yes it can do that!!) so there's no flodding5. If it's a cloudy day it can turn on the lights automatically inside the house, when the sun comes out it turns them off, in the evening it turns it on automatically and shuts everything down when you goto bedThese are some of the apps we have written to make the most out of this platform and hub. Overall it's a VERY powerful and flexible platform but if you aren't a programmer start with the community for help or visit the RBoyApps website at www-rboyapps-com to see what you can get done to make your House Your Butler!Enjoy!!!PS - I've given it 4 stars, as much as we love this platform, is because you will need some help to make the most out of it, but truly once you're figure it out, Google NEST will look like a historical artifact! Informed Buyer ( US ) on Tue 15th Mar, 2016

★★★★ Can't Count On It. I can't count on it to do something as basic as turning a light on and off consistently. How could I possibly count on it to control a door lock or any other critical "thing" Amazon Customer ( US ) on Tue 15th Mar, 2016

★★★★ Works As Expected. This has worked well for me in the 3 months I have been using it. I've had no problems with it, and I have a number of devices linked to it.I've not had to reboot it. I've received one firmware update. Samsung notified me that the update would occur automatically on a certain date, and it did. The update installed without any assistance from me, and it works.I like that the hub works with both Zwave and Zigbee devices.I would recommend this to anyone who needs a hub. Cornerview ( US ) on Tue 15th Mar, 2016

★★★★ Ugh. extremely unreliable. Works one minute, doesn't the next. If you like being continually frustrated, go for it. Johnathan Mason ( US ) on Mon 14th Mar, 2016

★★★★ Started Rough But Has Greatly Improved This hub was my first HA hub so I don't have the frustrations that many Gen 1 owners have with trying to upgrade. Having said that, there were a lot of issues when I first purchased the Gen 2 hub (I preordered it from the ST website and received it shortly after release). The devices I bought with the hub paired fine and they functioned properly but I'd get random notifications that the hub was offline then back online a couple minutes later.ST pushed out an update to the hub a couple months ago that has made the experience *vastly* better. The hub is no longer going offline randomly and everything seems to be working as it should.The best part is easily the integration with the Amazon Echo. Being able to control my lights and devices with just my voice is not only cool but convenient as well. No more having to take out my phone and go into the app to manually change something that isn't set on a schedule. It also integrates well with the Harmony Hub, so I can turn my TV and other media devices on/off with just my voice.As far as I can tell, everything still processes in the cloud, so I'm hoping that they open up the local processing to developers soon. I've got cellular backup on my primary internet, so I'm not too worried about the cloud integration now.Overall, things were initially a bit rough but after the major update a month or so ago things have been fantastic. It's not perfect, and anyone whose leery of the cloud should look elsewhere, but overall it's been a very good center for my home automation needs. Amazon Customer ( US ) on Mon 14th Mar, 2016

★★★★ Terrible Experiences: - I Purchased This Item In NEW ... I have 3 brand new switches (Wemo, TP-Link and Ankuoo NEO), and none of them could be connected with the hub.Terrible Experiences:- I purchased this item in NEW condition (From amazon), the box was taped by some cheap tape. Maybe that's why I can't any app instruction.- The menu is terribly designed, it made me to read through the whole menu to find the download link for the apps- To activate the hub you need a code, but it took me 5+ attempts to get through (I emailed support and took them 2 days to email me just a case # (no solutions)- There are absolutely no instructions on how to use the app ( the menu that came with the box only shows you how to setup the hardware)- This hub only works specific brand and MODEL I guess. Make sure you buy the most expensive brand (specific Wemo) and check out their compatible list .. hahaExtra info::Wait for gen 3 or something, gen 2 is for lab rats!Switches:Surprisingly, the cheapest brand ==> Ankuoo NEO works the best for me and their app load the fastest and response really quick but the draw back is, it doesn't work with Amazon Echo. Wemo is the worst and the most expensive, you can pour coffee or turn on and off 10 times physically while waiting (20s for single switch) for the app to load and scan for switches. TP-Link has reasonable price and the app has good response time (way better than Wemo) and it's compatible with Echo w/o hub.. Woohoo..! Not so fast, TP-link only makes "smart plug", they don't make switches. You can only buy TP for plug in devices, no ceiling lights or any appliance uses "wall switch" Sze Ching Mao ( US ) on Sun 13th Mar, 2016

★★★★ Great Smart Hub! Very flexible functions for DYI home automation. Beats the limites Wink hub.Wish it had had light grouping otherwise would be 5 star. KLD ( CA ) on Wed 9th Mar, 2016

★★★★ DO. NOT. BUY. I've had a SmartThings setup for almost a year now and the platform has been plagued with so many bugs and problems in the last month that it is getting useless. Simple things like schedule to open a light at sunset or raise the temperature of a thermostat doesn't work half the time. Or they just work, but not when they are supposed. My house feels like if it is inhabited by a poltergeist because of that crappy home automation product.. Pierre Francoeur ( CA ) on Thu 26th Nov, 2015

Read more reviews »

Sponsored Items

Samsung SmartThings Hub 2nd Generation

* Reviews last refreshed on 2016-Jul-17 *

Ratings table is based on all reviews held in our database (compiled from multiple sources), and may vary from individual sites.