Ratings

All Time Rating : 98% ★★★★★
4.9 out of 5 (Based on 29 Reviews)
30 Days Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
3 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
6 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
12 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
* Ratings & Reviews last refreshed on 2016-07-13 (see below)

Price History


Recent Reviews

★★★★★ Sober Stick Figure: A Memoir Is The Best Book I've Read This Year. I love it - hilarious and inspiring! You won't be disappointed. Michael D. Bruce ( US ) on Sun 10th Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Go Out And Get This Book! Funny, heartwarming, and so unique! Couldn't put it down. Lauren Germain ( US ) on Thu 7th Jul, 2016

★★★★★ A Unique And Hilarious Story Of Alcoholism And Recovery Sober Stick Figure is brilliant.When my book was delivered, I eagerly ripped open the package it came in and thumbed through the book's pages. Wow. I was expecting a few stick figure drawings scattered throughout the text, but there were stick figure drawings on *every* page spread! They were crudely drawn and laugh-out-loud funny. All 269 of them (yes, I later counted the drawings).Then I sat down with the book and started reading the text. By the time I finished reading the first four sentences, I knew this book was something special:"The first time I ever tasted alcohol was at my grandma Babe’s house. I was seven years old. My uncle Woody let me take a swig of his beer, and I thought it tasted like sour pee. I knew what pee tasted like because I was a ****ed-up kid."Sober Stick Figure is, as Amber Tozer describes it in the front matter, “a dark and funny story about alcoholism.” It tells the story of how Tozer fell in love with alcohol, how it took over and complicated her life, and how she eventually came to realize that she had a problem before getting sober more than seven years ago.Tozer shares hilarious stories and intimate—at times very intimate—details about her life, starting with her days growing up in Pueblo, Colorado, where she is surrounded by alcoholism, both within her family and at the bar/restaurant her mother owns. Working for her mother provides Tozer with security, but she wants more than that. She longs for opportunities and adventures, and that prompts her to make a life-changing solo move to New York City.The Big Apple is the setting for numerous tales of job hunting, job hopping, love, lust, Tozer’s entry into the world of comedy, and, of course, drinking. Lots and lots of drinking. And that drinking fuels some scary—and amusing—incidents."I went on a six-month drinking binge that lead me to get blackout drunk every night. I don’t remember much, but what I do remember is 'waking up' also known as 'coming to' in random places. One time I woke up on a train in Coney Island. The sun was coming up, and I was the only passenger. I was like, 'Holy s***. I’ve always wanted to come here.”Later, Tozer moves to Los Angeles, where more craziness ensues.Throughout her narrative, Tozer holds nothing back, always being as brutally honest as she can be. (How brutally honest? Five different stories about urinating in inappropriate places should give you some indication.) But that honesty brings humor along with it, too. Like when Tozer describes her fear with this comical analogy (and a drawing that goes with it):"I was like a mouse in a factory that made big gigantic ceramic cats, nothing to be afraid of really, but it was still scary."Although this book is uproariously funny, it also contains some serious, thought-provoking messages. Like when Tozer declares, “Sobriety doesn’t make you automatically smart; it teaches you painful lessons until you become less stupid.” Or when she writes:"Alcoholism is such a baffling condition, and I’m sure it’s even more confusing to people who aren’t addicts. Normal people who say, 'Stop drinking and stop using drugs. It’s a choice and it’s common sense.' To you I say, 'Ssshhh. You have no idea what you’re talking about. Why don’t you just enjoy your normal brain and logical reactions to life’s troubles while we spin out of control until we find a solution that works for us.'"I’ve read a lot of books about addiction, many of them memoirs. But Sober Stick Figure is in a league of its own. Amber Tozer has a knack for storytelling, and that makes this book very difficult to put down. Tozer’s ability to write about her struggles in a self-deprecating and relatable way would make this book a winner even without the dark and childlike stick figure illustrations. But, darn…the drawings are amazing. And they make Sober Stick Figure truly unique. Deanokat ( US ) on Tue 5th Jul, 2016

★★★★★ An Authentic And Inspiring Read! This book takes guts to write and a person who cares deeply about others, to write it. Amber Tozer's brute honesty and raw courage shoots through this book with integrity and humor, straight to your heart. I'm grateful to this author for her "no holds barred" commando telling and sharing of her life. Her truthfulness and authenticity show the way to forgiveness and self acceptance. There are few among us who don't need huge doses of that stuff to help quell the roaring sea inside. . Jan in Northern, CA. ( US ) on Sun 3rd Jul, 2016

★★★★★ I Am So Glad There Is An Amber Tozer That Exists I cried the first few times reading this, it really hit home for me. I am so glad there is an Amber Tozer that exists. Wonderful read, hilarious, tragic, and full of great intellect and superb articulation. Bravo, bravo. A. K. Rogers ( US ) on Sat 2nd Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Not Too Bad This book was not too bad, I expected it to be funnier but gave a lighter approach to drinking and being sober for a first insight Nattyodp ( UK ) on Tue 28th Jun, 2016

★★★★★ Five Stars So funny and original! Loved it! Heather Thomson ( US ) on Mon 27th Jun, 2016

★★★★★ Funny And Inspiring! Loved it! An honest, hilarious and helpful journey through addiction and sobriety. I don't even read but Amber Tozer's writing style is relatable, written the way I imagine she would tell you verbally, so I blazed through it with ease while being thoroughly entertained. I recommend as a gift for anyone trying to get sober that needs some comedic encouragement...I already sent one to my friend going through rehab! Leah ( US ) on Mon 27th Jun, 2016

★★★★★ Must Read! I LOVED this book! Heartfelt, funny and inspiring ... I couldn't put it down! I'm ordering two more books now as gifts.Great writing style! Amazon Customer ( US ) on Sat 25th Jun, 2016

★★★★★ I Loved So Many Things About Amber Tozer's Book I loved so many things about Amber Tozer's book. I love that her writing is true, she writes real. She's not afraid of being human, like many people, okay me. Besides being really funny, there is depth in a book with stick figures. Also she has a lot of respect for the reader, she's not preaching, not giving advice, she's sharing her experience even as she's writing the book. I love that. Reading her book was, surprising, live, hysterical. She is a unique voice in comedy and now in writing. I can't recommend this book enough, for anyone who has ever struggled with being awake and alive. If you're a mammal, you will love it. Amber is someone that we will hear about. Amazon Customer ( US ) on Wed 22nd Jun, 2016

★★★★★ This Book Is Great I Could Not Put It Down This book is great I could not put it down . The stick figures were hilarious. It is so inspiring, because we all have alcoholism in some part of our life. I love love loved it. Read it you you won't be disappointed.. Amazon Customer ( US ) on Fri 17th Jun, 2016

★★★★★ All Writing Would Be Better With Stick Figure Illustration... This isn't normally the kind of book I'd read, but Amber and I went to high school together and I'm all for supporting my former classmates, so I picked up a copy and read it. In two sittings. It's that good.I really wish Amazon would let me intersperse my review with poorly-drawn stick figures. After reading this book, I'm pretty sure ALL books would benefit from stick figure illustrations.Amber writes with brutal honesty wrapped up in a healthy dose of wit and dry humor. The stick figure drawings are a fantastic comedic foil for what can be a pretty heavy subject and the net result is a memoir about addiction that doesn't hit you over the head with sadness.That's not to say the book isn't moving... it most certainly is. The funny stories about her drinking days carry an undercurrent of sadness. The letter to her father at the end is very powerful.In short, this is an excellent book with something to offer just about everyone. Justin Bregar ( US ) on Thu 16th Jun, 2016

★★★★★ I Loved Everything About It Absolutely hilarious! I loved everything about it! DMCummings ( US ) on Thu 16th Jun, 2016

★★★★★ Incredible Couldn't put it down. I laughed and I cried. Highly recommend. Donna MacFarlane ( US ) on Mon 13th Jun, 2016

★★★★★ A Stick Figure Thin Slice Of Genius. This book was incredibly funny and heartwarming. Imagine a cross between Thomas Hardy's The Mayor of Casterbridge, F. Scott Fitzgerald's Tender Is The NIght, and Charles Jackson's The Lost Weekend, all done in a faux naif style reminiscent of Diary of a WImpy Kid.Read this book. I really cannot believe that you have anything better to do.I'm not not saying your life is boring, wasteful and meaningless, I'm just saying the book is THAT GOOD. Barack Obama (not that on ( UK ) on Sun 12th Jun, 2016

Read more reviews »

Sponsored Items

Sober Stick Figure

* Reviews last refreshed on 2016-Jul-13 *

Ratings table is based on all reviews held in our database (compiled from multiple sources), and may vary from individual sites.