Ratings

All Time Rating : 86% ★★★★
4.3 out of 5 (Based on 267 Reviews)
30 Days Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
3 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
6 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
12 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
* Ratings & Reviews last refreshed on 2016-07-12 (see below)

Price History


Recent Reviews

★★★★★ Good Book! Excellent reading, interesting characters, good plot that is building up. If you like fantasy then read this. Next to book 2 :) Amazon Customer ( US ) on Mon 11th Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Terrific! A grand adventure begins with a unique cast of characters! Well written and inventive. Spend the money, you won't be disappointed. Crowderguy ( US ) on Mon 11th Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Excellent Dark Comic Fantasy Wondrous world building. Characters explode off the page. Hilarious and insightful. Better than GoT. There, I said it. Please enjoy! kyle ( US ) on Fri 8th Jul, 2016

★★★★★ The Best Series I've Read In A Long Time The best series I've read in a long time! The characters are unique and while the story feels familiar, it continues to surprise and be unpredictable. SoozEQ ( US ) on Wed 6th Jul, 2016

★★★★ [ Translate ] Redundant Und Einschläfernd Meiner bescheidenen Meinung nach ist Herr Abercrombie einer jener Schreiberlinge, die von gutem Geschichtenerzählen keine Ahnung haben und sich dennoch bemüßigt fühlen, hunderte Seiten mit ihrem Gefasel zu füllen. Er zieht seine papierdünne Story - die übrigens erst gegen Mitte des Buches halbwegs in die Gänge kommt - wie einen Strudelteig in die Länge und stopft die dabei mannigfaltig entstehenden Spannungslöcher mit endlosen, redundanten Beschreibungen und Gedankengängen der durchwegs unsympathischen Charaktere.The Blade itself war eines der wenigen Bücher, die ich nicht bis zum Ende gelesen habe. mastermind ( DE ) on Tue 5th Jul, 2016

★★★★ And Am Still Extremely Confused Why So Many People Like It. The Writing Is Atrocious I picked this up after seeing so many positive reviews, and am still extremely confused why so many people like it. The writing is atrocious, filled with run on sentences and terrible grammar. The description and world building is bland. I got as far as the scene where the fencing character can apparently read thoughts and know the life history of other people at the table by their facial expressions before tossing it aside in disgust. Wyatt Peterson ( US ) on Sun 3rd Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Five Stars One of the most fun books I have ever read. Absorbing, visceral, brutal, and awesome. I loved it. Aaron Wynne ( US ) on Wed 29th Jun, 2016

★★★★★ Five Stars Great book Amazon Customer ( US ) on Sat 25th Jun, 2016

★★★★★ As Real As It Gets. Nothing better than this dark, funny, human story. I want more of every character, and more characters and more stories. dvr ( US ) on Wed 22nd Jun, 2016

★★★★ I Feel Like I Was Lied To By All The "top N" Fantasy Novels Lists I don't ever write book reviews, but here we go. Briefly. I feel like I was lied to but all the "top 50/100/N" fantasy novels you MUST read lists. I have no idea why this book is so high on those lists. It may say something unsettling about the state of fantasy fictions these days. Maybe the problem was that I just came off reading the KingKiller Chronicle by Patrick Rothfuss (The Name of the Wind, The Wise Man's Fear). That is truly good writing and a compelling story.This was mediocre writing with an uninspiring, and kind of boring story. The writing falls into a genre I have self-coined as "made for tv/movie". The story and characters seems to exist for the sole purpose of selling movie rights. Action scenes are described like you might see them on film. Bleh.I had such a hard time getting into the book I can barely tell you what the plot is at this point. Anyway, these are just my opinions, but I honestly wouldn't waste my time or money on this book or series. Matthew ( US ) on Wed 22nd Jun, 2016

★★★★ Black Humour, Barbarians And Magic I already read the 'Half a King' trilogy so i knew a bit about what to expect from Abercrombie -1st rate fantasy. I like the way good fantasyreflects our own world history - you have the Northmen [Vikings] the Union ['civilized 'Europe] the swarthy skinned Gurkish [Saracens?]then further south black tribes, here represented by Sulwei, a wandering 'Rastafari' holy man. A great cast of characters all with a darkly comic twist,a bit like Terry Pratchetts Discworld people but without the slapstick - Logen the barbarian, Bayaz the wizard, Ferro the female renegade,Jezal the selfish aristocrat and the central character Glokta the Inquisitor. Glokta was once like Jezal, an arrogant fencing champion and captainin the Union Army, until he was captured and endured two years of torture at the hands of the Gurkish. Now, crippled and in constant pain,he does the torturing - of anyone suspected of treason or corruption. He should be an easy character to hate yet his cynicism and blackly humorous approach to life make him fascinating. I am somehow reminded of Severus Snape [as portrayed by the late Alan Rickman] in the Harry Potter films. Another reviewer mentioned the lack of a map - yes I would have found it useful - the 'Half a King' trilogy had one but then the First Law series is apparently his debut so maybe he progressed to mapping second time round ChrisT ( UK ) on Wed 22nd Jun, 2016

★★★★★ Five Stars Great series! Will be looking to buy more works of Abercrombie. A. canamore ( US ) on Wed 22nd Jun, 2016

★★★★ One Star Awful childish crap. Mark Whidden ( CA ) on Tue 14th Jun, 2016

★★★★★ Loved It Loved it - easy to lose yourself in the story and the charactersVery game of thrones but with more flow Amazon Customer ( UK ) on Sun 12th Jun, 2016

★★★★★ Five Stars great book. Well written Amazon Customer ( UK ) on Tue 3rd May, 2016

Read more reviews »

Sponsored Items

The Blade Itself

* Reviews last refreshed on 2016-Jul-12 *

Ratings table is based on all reviews held in our database (compiled from multiple sources), and may vary from individual sites.