Ratings

All Time Rating : 96% ★★★★★
4.8 out of 5 (Based on 9 Reviews)
30 Days Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
3 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
6 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
12 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
* Ratings & Reviews last refreshed on 2016-07-12 (see below)

Price History


Recent Reviews

★★★★★ Another Winner Very well received, can't go wrong with a Julia Donaldson story. glorious downs ( UK ) on Fri 8th Jul, 2016

★★★★ Donaldson Can Really Do No Wrong.. Julia Donaldson so you know it's gonna be a fun read for parents and kids alike quality of story not gruffalo great or as good as(my son's favourite Charlie cooks favourite book) but still really good, different illustrator to the majority of her books but somehow seems more vibrant for the change, a must read for all Donaldson fans Robert Bruce ( UK ) on Thu 7th Jul, 2016

★★★★★ I Was A Little Leary About The Illustrator Since Her Books Illustrated By Axel Schoeffler Are Superior To Her Other Illustrators I am a huge Gruffalo and Julia Donaldson fan. I have all of her picture books. I knew I was going to buy her latest book even though it is not yet available in the U.S. I was a little leary about the illustrator since her books illustrated by Axel Schoeffler are superior to her other illustrators. I was so happy to see that this new illustrator is excellent. So glad to be sharing this with all the kids. Marion A. Knott ( UK ) on Sun 3rd Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Perfect For JD And Dog Lovers Everywhere Another fab story for the JD resume....my 4 year old loves Nell, and Saras illustrations add to the discussions on reading....perfect for JD and dog lovers everywhere! TK ( UK ) on Sun 3rd Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Poetic Genius My mum recently bought my two year old daughter a new book and it's quickly become my favourite and hers!Julia Donaldson has surpassed herself with her latest book 'The Detective Dog'. We all know her brilliance from the likes of 'The Gruffalo', 'Stick Man' and my other favourite 'Room on the Broom', plus so many others!This 2016 book is equally wonderful; introducing us to the character of Nell, the detective dog, who with her amazing sense of smell manages to save the day and track down the missing books. What I particularly liked was the library page and the sense of wonder she created about it, a great reminder to all of us that we are lucky to have this free facility to use; which we definitely make use of in our family.The story is written in poetic form, with rhyming couplets throughout. It makes for a compelling read and it enables children to join in by predicting the rhyming word coming up."Books about dinosaurs, books about knights, Books about planets and meteorites, Books about princes who turn into frogs, Books about dragons, and books about dogs..."To help bring the story to life Sara Ogilvie has created the most detailed pictures. The more we read the more we find hidden in the background. The great partnership between Julia and Sara is a winning combination!If you haven't read this book yet, I highly recommend you go and buy a copy... or borrow it from your local library. PMW ( UK ) on Sat 2nd Jul, 2016

★★★★ Julia Donaldson Simply Doesn't Write Bad Books. They Are All Excellent Or At Least ... Julia Donaldson simply doesn't write bad books. They are all excellent or at least very good. Fast delivery on this as well. Billiam Shakespeare ( UK ) on Thu 30th Jun, 2016

★★★★★ Julia Donaldson Has Come Up Trumps Again! Fabulous! Julia Donaldson has done it again with another classic that is sure to be a huge hit with the 3-7 age group (and their grown ups too!). I didn't realise she had a new book out so I was delighted to stumble across this in our local supermarket and it certainly didn't disappoint.This is a new author/illustrator partnership but I can't see it being their last combined effort if this book is anything to go by. Sara Ogilvie's wonderful illustrations compliment Donaldson's rhymes beautifully.My daughters loved hearing about Detective Dog Nell solving the mystery of the missing school books. The book has a lovely message about the love of reading and how libraries can make books accessible to all. I can't wait to share it with my Reception class who love books just as much as Nell. Miss R ( UK ) on Mon 13th Jun, 2016

★★★★★ Five Stars Great book!!!!delivery was very fast too Auds ( UK ) on Mon 13th Jun, 2016

★★★★★ Another Superb Offering! We all know Julia Donaldson is a genius with rhyme. So when I saw a new book with her name on, I automatically picked it up off the shelf to take a look.What a fabulous book! Teamed with a new illustrator. Sara Ogilvie, the cover is fresh and fun and inside is no disappointment. There are some wonderful quirky pictures to make you laugh out loud. I'm delighted at the new partnership.Detective Dog Nell belongs to Peter, a young boy who appreciates Nell's sleuthing talents when he loses things. But Nell's favourite day of the week is a Monday, when she visits school to listen to the children read. Until one day the books all disappear...With typical humour, Donaldson manages to convey the beauty and importance of books in her usual clever way:'Thousands of books, from the floor to the ceiling.The books gave the thief the most heavenly feeling.He gazed in amazement. "Where am I?" he said,And Peter replied, "In the library, Ted.You can join if you want to - there isn't a fee,And then you can take lots of books out for free."If only more people knew that... Love your message Julia. LesleyP ( UK ) on Fri 10th Jun, 2016

Read more reviews »

Sponsored Items

The Detective Dog

* Reviews last refreshed on 2016-Jul-12 *

Ratings table is based on all reviews held in our database (compiled from multiple sources), and may vary from individual sites.