Ratings

All Time Rating : 88% ★★★★
4.4 out of 5 (Based on 285 Reviews)
30 Days Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
3 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
6 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
12 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
* Ratings & Reviews last refreshed on 2016-08-04 (see below)

Price History


Recent Reviews

★★★★ Stunning Piece Of Writing This book is seriously hard work.Eco takes you back in time to the early 14th century and a Europe in disarray as competing factions fight out whether or not Jesus owned the shirt on his back (sort of). The murder mystery that forms the backbone of this book is set in an imposing monestary high in the mountains, home to a treasury of literature and an increasing body count that the principle characters are tasked with sorting out.In large part the writing is simply stunning. Utterly absorbing. But in many places, Eco indulges himself with rambling narratives that serve no great purpose. He seems to have a passion for reeling off long lists of almost anything which don't advance the story. An editor's cutting scissors would have been helpful.The result is a book that is both utterly absorbing and difficult to get into. A paradox the author I'm sure would be content with. Partick Potter ( UK ) on Thu 28th Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Two Stars For me, to slow and far to much in the description.....all slow no go! Nikolas Apostalidis ( UK ) on Wed 27th Jul, 2016

★★★★★ [ Translate ] Hatte Potential, Welches Leider In Geschwülstartigen Monologen Kläglich Untergeht Es gibt einiges, was gelungen ist in diesem Buch, aber leider auch vieles, das einfach nicht gelungen ist. Insofern kann ich mich den vielen anderen Rezensionen nur anschließen, welche sagen, dass Umberto Eco zwar ein sehr intelligenter, wortgewandter Mann voller Wissen ist, er aber ganz sicher kein guter Autor ist.Was mir an "Der Name der Rose" gut gefällt, ist, dass man als Leser eine gute Einsicht in das Denken und die daraus folgende Handlungsweise der Menschen erfährt. Zu keiner Zeit hatte ich beim Lesen das Gefühl, Eco würde neumodische Dinge oder Philosophien unterjubeln und sie als mitterlalterlich ausgeben. Ich konnte die Denkensweise der Figuren (größtenteils, sofern sie nicht zu sehr vom Thema abdrifteten) tatsächlich nachempfinden, auch wenn mir vieles, als Frau aus dem 21. Jahrhundert, säuerlich aufstieß. Aber auch konnte mir das Buch ein Gefühl dafür vermitteln, wie gefährlich es war, zu dieser Zeit zu leben, und wie sehr man darauf achten musste, was man zu wem sagte und wie dieser das Gesagte interpretierte.Die Charaktere sind vielschichtig, auch wenn das manchmal unter seitenlangen Monologen unterzugehen droht. William ist zweifellos mein Lieblingscharakter gewesen, da er sich nicht zu schnell auf Urteile und Verurteilungen hat hinreißen lassen, und stets versuchte, alle Seiten einer Geschichte oder Tat zu beleuchten. Zudem war er sehr belesen und klug. Er hat Erfahrungen gemacht und Dinge gesehen, die ihn im Laufe der Zeit verändert haben und ihn dazu gebracht haben, andere Wege einzuschlagen als ein paar seiner alten Freunde. Ich hätte gerne mehr aus seiner Vergangenheit erfahren.Den anderen Hauptcharakter und Erzähler der Geschichte, Adson, mochte ich leider überhaupt nicht. Er war einfältig, ignorant und schwächlich. Bei seiner seitenlangen Obsession mit dem Mädchen führte er mir nur wieder deutlich meine Abneigung gegenüber heuchlerischen Kirchenmännern vor Augen. Irgendwann musste ich seinen inneren Jammer-Monolog überspringen, sonst wäre ich versucht gewesen, ihm durch die Seiten des Buches ein paar kräftige Ohrfeigen zu verpassen.Da er meistens aber eh nur dazu diente, um die endlosen Monologe anderer Charaktere zu verlängern, hatte seine Figur ohnehin keinen besonderen Wert.Die anderen Charaktere jedoch waren wiederum sehr interessant. Der Botaniker, der Bibliothekar, der Abt, Ubertin usw.. sie alle hatten eigene Vergangenheiten und Absichten, die sie spannend gemacht haben, obwohl sie zumeist nur angerissen wurden.Der Handlungsort klang für mich vor Lesebeginn absolut langweilig. Im Kloster? Na toll, dachte ich. Aber alles in diesem Kloster dreht sich um Bücher, um Wissen, und welche Macht beides haben kann und welche Geheimnisse sich damit durch das Kloster ziehen, und das hat es wiederum spannend gemacht, gerade weil die Mönche so abgeschottet von der Außenwelt leben.Ich finde also durchaus, dass dieses Buch ein spannender Kriminalroman im Mittelalter hätte werden können. Aber leider ist Eco zu viel Gelehrter, um Autor zu sein. Unter anderem merkt man es allein schon an mehrzeiligen (ca. 10 oder mehr Zeilen) Aufzählungen, z. B. von Fabelwesen, die absolut unnötig sind und man am Ende der Aufzählung schon gar nicht mehr weiß, warum es diese Aufzählung überhaupt nötig hatte. Aufzählungen, Metaphern, Vergleiche, Hintergrundgeschichten von wichtigen Personen: alles wird endlos in die Länge gezogen. Zum Beispiel führt William beim Versuch, den Begriff der unterschiedlichen Ketzer näher zu erklären, gleich drei unterschiedliche Metaphern an, weil er mit der jeweils vorangegangen nicht zufrieden ist. Da muss man sich als Leser ja nun doch fragen, ob das wirklich nötig ist, oder ob das reine Selbsverherrlichung ob des Intellekts des Autors ist. (Und eine nur ansatzweise befriedigende Unterscheidung kommt erst nach weiterem mehrmaligem Fragen, dann aber ohne weitere nichtssagende Metaphern.)Oder ein anderes Beispiel: William doziert seitenlang über die Beschaffenheit und Wirkungsweise von einem Kompass (mit welchem er sich in der Bibliothek zurechtfinden will), nur um dann stattdessen von außen eine Karte der Bibliothek zu zeichen. War es also wirklich nötig von Eco, sein ganzes Wissen über Kompasse herunterzubeten?Kurzum: Eco versteht es einfach nicht, Kernaussagen aus wichtigen Argumenten zu ziehen und damit zum Punkt zu kommen, beziehungsweise sich ausschließlich auf Details zu beziehen, die wichtig für den Gesamtkontext sind; stattdessen verstrickt er sich zu sehr in seinem umfassenden Wissen, was er über die damalige Zeit, die Ketzerorden, Medizin etc. so alles weiß. Vieles davon eignet sich besser in kurzen Aufsätzen, denn seine Ansichten und sein Wissen über diese Themen sind wirklich interessant, in einem fiktiven Roman, der unterhalten will, allerdings völlig fehl am Platz.Der Lesefluss wird immer wieder von dozierenden Passagen, die, wie selbst immer wieder im Roman von Figuren gesagt wird, nur zu schnell vom ursprünglichen Thema abweichen. Dem Roman mangelt es an Kohärenz. Und es ist mir egal, was die anderen Rezensionen sagen: ein Roman ist für eine breite Masse geschrieben und soll IMMER unterhalten, auf die eine oder andere Weise, er soll aber nicht Lektionen erteilen. Zu viele Seiten verschwendet er daran, (fast) völlig unwichtige Details herunterzubeten, die kaum etwas zu der Handlung beitragen und somit völlig überflüssig in einem Roman sind. Dafür gibt es schließlich eine Buchart, die sich Sachbücher nennt.Und dieser Roman versteht es leider nur passagenweise wirklich zu unterhalten. Wirklich schade, denn trotz des langweilig klingenden Settings, hätten die interessanten Charaktere tatsächlich einen spannenden Roman aus diesem Buch werden lassen können.Einen weiteren Aspekt, den ich vielleicht anmerken könnte, ist, dass der Bösewicht hinter allem jemand war, den ich von Anfang an im Verdacht hatte - deswegen barg das Ende also leider nicht so viele Überraschungen oder Spannung für mich.Umberto Eco besitzt zweifelsohne einen brillianten Geist und es wäre sicher interessant, ihm bei einem Vortrag zuhören zu dürfen, aber beim Schreiben von Büchern sollte er sich lieber jemanden zur Seite nehmen, der ihm hilft, sein Wissen spannend und unterhaltsam und vor allem kompakt zu verpacken. So kann ich also leider nur zwei Sterne vergeben. Lena F. ( DE ) on Sun 26th Jun, 2016

★★★★★ [ Translate ] Vielschichtiger Roman, Nicht Umsonst Weltberühmt Genial! So viele versteckte Details, theologische, philosophische, geschichtliche und naturwissenschaftliche Feinheiten verstrickt in einen spannenden Roman der von Anfang an fesselt. Ein Meisterwerk! Niemandsland ( DE ) on Wed 1st Jun, 2016

★★★★ Progress Report Qi am enjoying it weaver ( UK ) on Thu 19th May, 2016

★★★★★ Worth The Effort In My View But Only Just This is heavy going and strongly loaded with religious 14th Century debate well before the reformation. The Church sounds as if it is on the brink of fracturing completely at that time. William of Baskerville seems the only one with a clear head using reason to sort out the murder mystery. He believes that like whisky, religion is a fine thing taken in moderation. It is very heavy going from my viewpoint and I think the most ardent Catholic would find the discussion of various heresies and their merits quite tedious. It does show that the penalty for apostacy or heresy was death in the Christian religion at that time. Now we wouldn't let them get away with it. Islam is in that situation just now in many muslim countries.Worth the effort in my view but only just Colin Banks ( UK ) on Tue 10th May, 2016

★★★★★ [ Translate ] Ganz Wichtiger Text das ist der theoretische Text zum Roman, hier werden hochinteressante kunsttheoretische Betrachtungen angestellt, die wirklich wichtig sind und erkennen lassen, dass der Roman - so wie es sein soll - einen enormen geistigen Unterbau hat legaldesigner ( DE ) on Tue 3rd May, 2016

★★★★ I THINK I Liked This Novel I THINK I liked this novel, although I'm not 100% sure! I found it really difficult to read in places, and must admit that when the characters were going into incredibly long narratives about the history of their monastic order, or the history of the church in general in Italy, it was sometimes so incomprehensible (to me) that I was skipping sometimes up to six pages of this at a time, because for me it was holding up the story. It's a 'learned' book I think, and I'm sure I got something from it, not least of which was how vicious and blood-thirsty monks were in those days! Joystick ( UK ) on Fri 29th Apr, 2016

★★★★★ Five Stars great dr michael a l evans ( UK ) on Thu 28th Apr, 2016

★★★★ Pretentious Garbage I found it impossible to get through even the first day of the five the story purported to cover. Totally inaccessible to anybody not conversant in Latin and so pedestrian were the conversations that I found myself losing the will to live. Maybe the dead monk did indeed climb out of that high window unaided; I just can't be bothered to read any further to find out! Why on Earth did I not use the "Look Inside" facility or download a sample first? Alan Holmes ( UK ) on Sat 16th Apr, 2016

★★★★★ Re. Kindle Edition The kindle edition does not include Eco's 'Reflections on the Name of the Rose' Maria ( UK ) on Fri 15th Apr, 2016

★★★★★ A Great Read....And You'll Learn A Lot Too If you read the negative reviews of this book you will variously encounter the following:"...I didn't actually finish the book"...."I have now attempted to read it twice, and each time it has thwarted me"..."It is quite difficult to get into and, eventually you put it aside"..."I found I could not read further than the first two hundred pages"...etc etc etc etc.Yes, it's over 500 pages but if you can't manage that then frankly you need to get back to Harry Potter & the Philosopher's Stone!!The writing is great, as is the murder mystery plot which is set against the 14th century background of a papacy determined to stay rich & powerful in the face of challenge from religious orders like the Franciscans who embrace poverty & charity (thereby incurring the wrath of the inquisition!!).I was inspired to check out many of the book's references to, for example, the Fraticelli & the Minorites which confirmed that the narrative is well and truly grounded in historical fact - something which is further borne out by the fact that many of the named characters can be found in the pages of Wikipedia.Some reviewers seem to resent having to read about this historic background because they want a nice straightforward 'whodunit' - instead they should embrace the detail because without it the book would be a greatly diminished work. Stuart Watson ( UK ) on Tue 12th Apr, 2016

★★★★ Monks, Mystery And Murder... I approached The Name of the Rose with some trepidation. It was a thick paperback, and it came with a reputation of being a challenging read… and a few pages in it became clear that the author had liberally scattered his text with what I am told is medieval Latin (I don’t know any kind of Latin except for phrases which have passed into common use like Veni, vidi, vici).However, I decided I would tackle the challenge as I also knew it was a mystery novel and, in general, I enjoy mystery novels (unless they are too graphic).The Name of the Rose is a mystery novel, but it is a medieval mystery novel, set in a monastery against a background of a theological debate, and I found that I was as caught up in trying to follow the religious arguments (and form my own opinion of them) as I was by solving ‘whodunit’? In fact, by about half way through the novel I was so caught up in the story that I forgot to look out for clues as to the murderer’s identity… which meant I had a big surprise at the end.At the heart of the monastery, and at the centre of the novel, is the mysterious library – a labyrinth which can only be accessed by the librarian and his assistant. Like all forbidden or restricted things, curiosity drives others to long to penetrate the library’s secrets – unfolding a devastating chain of events.The Name of the Rose is a novel about sincere monks grappling with what seem to them to be vital questions: Did Christ practice (and preach) a rule of poverty for Himself and His followers? What should the relationship be between the (Catholic) church, the Emperor, and the common people? And, perhaps most important of all, Did Christ ever laugh? While these may not be questions which are asked in modern religious circles, what struck me was how the monks holding differing views used their religious beliefs in order to support political arguments – a trend as old as the monasteries of the Middle Ages and as modern as the American Presidential elections.The other theme in The Name of the Rose is about the importance of knowledge, and particularly the information stored in books, and about whether access to that learning should be free for all or restricted. Is all knowledge good, because it is knowledge, and should therefore be shared, or are there some things which it is better to keep a secret?You don’t have to be religious to enjoy this book – although I think it adds an interesting dimension if you are – neither do you have to be an expert on medieval times. If you have the patience to grapple with complex events (while remembering that the precise details are perhaps, not vital to the story), and the desire to read a novel that elevates the basic ‘whodunit’ to an art form, then add The Name of the Rose to your reading list, and persevere until the end. You will not be disappointed (but you may wish to read it again, to see if there were clues you missed the first time around). Victoria Louise Hill ( UK ) on Tue 5th Apr, 2016

★★★★★ Five Stars An elegantly written masterpiece! Amazon Customer ( UK ) on Sat 2nd Apr, 2016

★★★★★ A Different Slant. A very interesting book. Siamois ( UK ) on Sat 2nd Apr, 2016

Read more reviews »

Sponsored Items

The Name of the Rose

* Reviews last refreshed on 2016-Aug-04 *

Ratings table is based on all reviews held in our database (compiled from multiple sources), and may vary from individual sites.