Ratings

All Time Rating : 86% ★★★★
4.3 out of 5 (Based on 399 Reviews)
30 Days Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
3 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
6 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
12 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
* Ratings & Reviews last refreshed on 2016-07-11 (see below)

Price History


Recent Reviews

★★★★★ Saccharine Students A slice-of-life story about four kids with interwoven lives. Sort of a "Love, Actually" for tweens. Each gets their own section, focusing on what they did during the school year and vacation, and how they come together as friends and allies on the school quiz team. A bit of focus is also given to their teacher and her struggles against ridicule as a paraplegic.As for the quality of the book...it has that definite 1980s feel. Odd, given it was published in 1996. But the children are just too twee. They have tea parties and form a little secret club and it all just sounds like something an adult writes to fondly remember a childhood they themselves only ever saw in books, not in real life.If you have a child looking for a realistic fiction or award-winner recommendation, I suppose put this on your list, but this book would never pop into my head if someone was looking for a general recommendation. Dione Basseri ( US ) on Wed 9th Dec, 2015

★★★★★ 2 Stars Meh I had to read this book for 6th grade humanities. It was horrible, and I hated it.In most places it did not really make sense, and its hard to understand what is going on. First of all, 6th graders dont really talk like english people in the esrly 1900s, and they do. I dont know why this bothers me :0 My favorite part part of the book was the last page. What really doesnt make sense is that on the last page, Mrs. Olinski says to "the souls" did i choose you or did you choose me? and they answered: YES! ?_? No one cares about some nerds and their quiz bowl, so if you have a choice whether or not to, DONT SPEND A CENT ON THIS BOOK. :) MV ( US ) on Sat 5th Dec, 2015

★★★★★ Five Stars Great story with interesting twist. Patricia Carter ( US ) on Wed 25th Nov, 2015

★★★★★ ... Got The Book Free And Was In A Very Good Condition. Thank You I got the book free and was in a very good condition. Thank you! Elias K. ( US ) on Mon 16th Nov, 2015

★★★★★ Great Book! We like the way this book weaves between individual character stories and the larger storyline. It was a great read aloud. Roddy D. Cook ( US ) on Fri 16th Oct, 2015

★★★★★ Five Stars Great Middle School book! S. Gedeon ( US ) on Sun 4th Oct, 2015

★★★★★ Do Yourself A Favor And Read This Book I can't believe it has taken me so long to learn of this book. A friend suggested it to me a month or so ago, after I'd complained about the series of cruddy bestsellers I'd sludged through recently to no ultimate satisfaction. I was a bit skeptical, it seemed to be formatted and written for a younger set - indeed, it concerns a group of sixth graders in a sort of educational state competition. I am currently 24, and tend toward books with decidedly different central topics.But this is now my favorite book that I can remember reading. Such simple ideas, but written so entertainingly and beautifully that you fall in love with every page turned. Honestly. You can't help but love the characters. And you'll without a doubt learn an interesting fact or two along the way... about sea turtles, calligraphy, magic...This book should definitely be added to your reading list. It's a quick read and will leave you will a sense of betterment and a smilier outlook on the world and people around you , all of them leading their own interesting lives, and struggling their own struggles. And I found myself looking back at little, scared 6th grade me and wondering how my life my have been different if I'd had a group of friends like these cuties. Shirin Amini ( US ) on Wed 30th Sep, 2015

★★★★ Great Book For Kids And Adults This is one of those books that I have ways wanted to read, but hadn't gotten around to reading it. I am teaching sixth grade for the first time (I have taught second grade for 14 years) and we have a limited number class sets of novels. This book just happened to be one of our class sets.To start with, I think this is one of those books that you read all at once, and not stretch out. It was one of those stories where the characters are all connected in one way or another. I don't want to give away too much, but it's a rather deep story with lots of great talking points. Kindle Customer ( US ) on Sat 29th Aug, 2015

★★★★★ Teaspoons And Afternoons As you may know, the Newbery Award is the highest honor a children's book can garner in the United States. Newbery winners are a touch and go lot, and a lot of kids avoid them like the plague. I've always been particularly interested in those award winning books that appeal to kids just as much as they appeal to the adults that shower them with praise, moolah, and awards. For instance, many adults felt that the book "A Single Shard" was well written, while a host of kids looked on it as dulldy dull dull. Both children and adults have agreed that "Holes" and "The Tale of Despereaux" are great books that are fun to read. Then you come to "The View From Saturday". Honestly, I thought this was a fabulous book. It was the rare children's novella that took the great risk of offering wisdom to its readers. It dares to make you think about life, the world, and how one interacts with other people. I can tell you a million reasons to love it, but I honestly haven't a clue if kids would enjoy it. Therein lies the mystery."The View From Saturday" follows the lives of four sixth grade quiz bowl champs and their paraplegic coach/teacher. Alternating their final quiz bowl championship match with short stories about the different journeys each kid has had to make, the book is adept at distinguishing between each individual in the group. We begin by listening to a story told by Noah. Noah reminded me of nothing so much as the spaz boy in the spelling bee documentary "Spellbound". A bit of a nerd, but pleased with his own inventive thoughts and ideas, Noah becomes the best man at a geriatric wedding. Then we hear Nadia's story about staying with her divorced father and newly remarried grandfather (hence the Noah connection) in Florida. This flows nicely into Ethan's story. His grandmother married Nadia's grandfather, and he overcomes his reluctance to interact easily with others with the help of his new friend Julian. Julian is the least troubled of the bunch, a boy of Indian heritage who is coming to America after living on a cruise ship. Together, the four band together into a group called The Souls. They are selected by Mrs. Olinski (though for a long time she doesn't know why) as her newest Quiz Bowl team and work effortlessly together in a group as friends and teammates.A synopsis of this tale really doesn't do it justice. Konigsburg is an adept writer and she knows exactly how to balance a story with both emotion and humor. I was particularly taken with Nadia's tale about living in Florida. Somehow, the author was able to conjure up feelings of being ignored and abandoned perfectly. As Nadia feels an (in my opinion) entirely justified sense of self-pity, we as readers understand what she's going through perfectly. Little triumphs are measured with small defeats. One of the things this book dares to say, and says so well, is how awfully mean people can be. That's a pretty loaded idea. Books today enjoy showing a mean person and then revealing the back story to their crimes. Here, we understand that sometimes a person's just mean to be mean, and it makes them unsuitable as friends as a result.Then there's Konigsburg's usual jabs at adults in positions of authority. In this particular case she's aimed her sights at people who naturally expect themselves to be smarter than children, yet constantly make mistakes regarding multiculturalism, grammar, pronunciation, etc. And she doesn't drill this idea home by ever putting the adults in situations where they spar with the kids. Instead, they tend to spar with Mrs. Olinski, assuming that because she is a) Just a teacher and b) Confined to a wheelchair she must therefore be less worthy of intelligent human discourse. The result is usually both funny and profound.Funny and profound is a good way to describe this entire offering, actually. It has its oddities, that's for sure. You have kids in this book saying sentences like, "Oh, that is too bad. Dad is picking me up before supper, and he will be disappointed if I do not eat with him". Not a contraction in sight. Do sixth graders actually act like the ones in this book? Probably not. Will you be amused by them anyway? Probably so. Will actual living breathing sixth graders be amused, intrigued, and challenged by this book? I have absolutely no idea. Maybe yes, maybe no. Whether or not they will, the book is fabulous, fun, and wise beyond its years. It's like a little dose of Zen religion without hokey mysticism or flowery prose. This book respects you, it respects your opinions, and it respects your sense of self-worth. If you have any desire to read something that accomplishes all this and more, pick it up for a glance. E. R. Bird ( CA ) on Thu 10th Jun, 2004

★★★★ Quotables E.L. Konigsburg uses descriptive nouns and vivid modifiers to paint a vivid picture of the characters in your head in The View from Saturday. First you get to know the charcter. She does this by painting the vivid picture and you feel like you know the character personally. You also feel like you are a "Soul." She does this by making you feel like you are there during their conversations, and there while they win the Champion Bowl. Also seeing the vivid picture makes you feel like you are watching them. You feel you are watching them because you really can picture the conflicts between the Noah and Nadia . So in conclusion, this book really shows that character desciption delivers an emotional message. You should definitly read this book. ( CA ) on Fri 26th Mar, 2004

★★★★★ Unique And Intriguing First off, the book is about four SIXTH graders. I note this because some of the reviews on Amazon erroneously say the characters are in seventh grade. Anyway, these four sixth graders go onto defeat the seventh, then eighth graders in their schools, and eventually take the regional trivia bowl championship.The four children "can spell and define puberty but have not yet gone through it." Given this, I can accept the tea parties and some of the other pastimes they engage in in "The View." Also, they are NOT presented as perfect without any character flaws or problems. The "Souls' as they call themselves are exceptionally intelligent and compassionate, but they - at least for Ethan and Nadia - do not make the "right" decisions instantly. Nadia, for example, wavers between helping some stranded baby turtles, or holding on to her grudge against her grandfather and father.This book also has some wonderful imagery. For example, ELK compares painting Nadia without her freckles to brushing the cinnamon off cinnamon toast.In summary, I would highly recommend this book. ( CA ) on Sat 13th Mar, 2004

★★★★★ Saturday Tea Strange things go on all the time. But the strangest things of all are those that are linked by the thin thread of life. So when four six-graders realize that they all share this linkage, they realize something else, how every single one of them need each other.Noah- accidental best man of Ethan's grandmother and Nadia's GrandfatherNadia- red haired dog-lover who loves turtlesEthan- Nadia's "cousin," who loves teh opera, and halosJulian- a magician who loves tea-time.Mrs. Olinski has chosen these four, also known as The Souls, for the Academic Bowl for a reason. But what? This book tells not one story, but four stories of kindness, of joy, and of living, through a certain event.A good book to read with a good cup of tea. S. Xu ( CA ) on Sun 7th Dec, 2003

★★★★★ RUN...run As Fast As You Can. RUN! This book brings torment as I recall the agonizing days of reading it in the 6th grade. Do not read this book. I have read the other reviews and am dissappointed to see that these people talk about it as if its th most wonderful thing in the world...as if our world, filled presently and probably forever with greed, hate, sorrow, can turn out to be so perfect. As though life will always have the answers. I wonder about the peiople who had written the other reviews...how old can they be? It is clear that none of them, from there technique of writing, could possibly be children. But wait...one minute...isn't this a children's book? I cannot comprehend how grown ups can relate to what a child may think of these book. When had read it, the book had deemed to be boring, plain and dull with no point to its ending. I only hope that you heed my warning and think again before paying with your time and money. ( CA ) on Thu 25th Sep, 2003

★★★★★ Creatively Done As a teacher to be, I was impressed with how this book captures your attention from page one and maintains it through out the book. What interested me into reading it, was that the teacher was a paraplegic, however what kept me interested is how each student shared their story around the answer to the question being asked at the Academic Bowl.I fell in love with the characters and what they stood for. This book is full of little lessons from questions at the Acedemic Bowl, to the importance of team work, to even how everything we do in life is a lesson we will need for the future.What an inspiring book. This would be a great book to read to the class...especially a sixth grade class. Valerie Gill ( CA ) on Sun 14th Sep, 2003

★★★★★ An Excellent Read I have read this book several times. Each time I read it, I grow to like E.L. Konigsburg morea and more as an author. She brings us clever and interesting characters that make us want to keep reading.This book is one of her best. It revolves around a Quiz-bowl team of 4 sixth graders who become friends in the process of protecting their parapalegic teacher. Through narratives from the point of view of the 4 students, the reader learns insight into their character. An added bonus: readers learn interesting facts about New York, the sea, calligraphy, etc. through the stories of the students.Buy this book, you will not be disappointed. ( CA ) on Sat 2nd Aug, 2003

Read more reviews »

Sponsored Items

The View from Saturday Jean Karl Books

* Reviews last refreshed on 2016-Jul-11 *

Ratings table is based on all reviews held in our database (compiled from multiple sources), and may vary from individual sites.