Ratings

All Time Rating : 94% ★★★★★
4.7 out of 5 (Based on 18 Reviews)
30 Days Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
3 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
6 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
12 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
* Ratings & Reviews last refreshed on 2016-07-17 (see below)

Price History


Recent Reviews

★★★★★ Excellent Everything went fine. Book got stuck at German customs but I was not aware of it and did an equiry with immediate response. The book was exactly in the condition as described. Very satisfying. Amazon Customer ( UK ) on Thu 5th May, 2016

★★★★★ Good Read Of A Very Interesting Life Arrived on time well packed. Good read of a very interesting life. Dwalli ( UK ) on Tue 26th Apr, 2016

★★★★★ Fascinating Story. Wonderful insight into life in Burma prior to Military rule. Her descriptions of the people and places are detailed and interesting. Having recently visited Burma, it gave a perspective on recent history particularly as we were fortunate enough to visit Hsipaw and spent a fascinating hour with Sao's relation who now looks after the home of Inge and Sao. Helen Wilkes ( UK ) on Fri 26th Feb, 2016

★★★★★ Truly Remarkable Read I visited East Haw, Hsipaw last year, a truly remarkable place. ....this brought everything together. .....only wish I had read the book before my visit. joanne mostyn ( UK ) on Thu 21st Jan, 2016

★★★★★ One Of The Well Written Book I Have Ever Read This book gave me profound feeling towards burmese people. I give my sympathy to burmese people who are so unfortunate to be ruled by such a brutal military government who are meant to protect their people. I wish burma will gain her true democracy in the near future which she deserve and long-overdue. I also wish all the military dictorship could be eliminated by the end of next decade. ( UK ) on Sat 2nd Jan, 2016

★★★★★ [ Translate ] Un Conte De Fées Un conte de fées, certes, mais qui tourne au cauchemar. Intéressant pour la description de la Birmanie avant le coup d'État militaire, de la vie dans un État shan et des manœuvres brutales (le mot est faible) de Ne Win et de ses sbires. A lire avant un voyage au Myanmar pour inciter à visiter Hsipaw (actuellement accessible) et l'ancien palais des princes de l'État.Non traduit en français, mais écrit dans un anglais facile. chantald ( FR ) on Thu 4th Jun, 2015

★★★★★ [ Translate ] Reklamation eine reklamation wurde zu meiner vollsten zufriedenheit bearbeitet. ich werde wieder bei dieser firma bestellen.mit freundlichen grüssen renate kassner renate kassner ( DE ) on Sun 21st Sep, 2014

★★★★★ Five Stars absolutely fine! jessica ruffin ( UK ) on Thu 11th Sep, 2014

★★★★ [ Translate ] A True Story, Life In The Shan States In The 50s And 60s A true story, somewhat romanticized, with considerable insight into life in the Shan states in the 50s and 60s up to the 1962 coup. Barbara ( FR ) on Sun 27th Jul, 2014

★★★★★ Twighlight Over Burma: MyLife As A Shan Princess I loved this book. It was such an amazing story of love, happiness and compassion so cruelly destroyed by such a wicked and ruthless military regime. Inge Sargent is and incredibly brave woman as was her husband Sao Kya Seng the Prince Hsipaw.We visited Burma in February 2014 and had the most wonderful time there. This book was recommended by one of our guides. Jean T ( UK ) on Sat 31st May, 2014

★★★★★ [ Translate ] Die Sehr Berührende Schilderung Eines Ungewöhnlichen Lebens Inge Sargents Buch ist tieftraurig (das schlimme Ende ihrer glücklichen Zeit in Birma ist ja schon von Anfang an bekannt), aber wunderschön und berührend. Der etwas naive Erzählstil hat mich nicht gestört. Es ist eben kein Roman, sondern die Beschreibung eines wirklichen Lebens. Frankfurterin ( DE ) on Sun 30th Aug, 2009

★★★★★ Tragedy And Hope Like another reviewer, I must confess that I was a student at the Boulder, CO school where Inge taught German classes. While I was not her student, my friends were. Never once did they let on about Inge's previous life.18 years old, I set out around the world. By 19, I was in Burma, a country I fell in love with, and visited so many times over the next decade. I also came to understand Burmese politics.At age 35, after most of my adult life spent in SE Asia, I moved back to Boulder. Late one night, I saw Inge on a PBS station, describing her book. Wow!I immediately bought the book.Let me say this: Some people talk, others have no need to do so, because they have lived. Inge has lived, and continues to do so. This book is the story of just one portion of her life. Absolutely incredible, abolutely unbelievable, absolutely true.Forget the naysayers here. This is the real deal. A wonderful book, simultaneously terrific and bittersweet. Richard W. Hughes ( CA ) on Mon 21st Jul, 2003

★★★★★ Fairy Tale In The Land Of Regrets Austrian student Inge Sargent married a Shan prince from Hsipaw. (She claims she wasn't even aware of his high status until she saw the welcoming throngs as they debarked on the shore in Burma. Imagine that little surprise if you were a new bride!) Eventually, the prince raises her to official consort-princess status. They raise two daughters and are deeply revered by the Shan people.Inge's husband, Sao Kya Seng disappeared after the 1962 coup which brought the military dictator Ne Win to power. They keep her cynically in the dark about his fate for a long time.My only objection to this book is that the author's portrait of herself and her prince husband is quite a bit idealized. Truly great autobiographies are a bit more self-critical and introspective. This book is too "fairy-tale" and good to be true to life. That is why I give the book three stars and not more.If you are interested in more about Myanmar (Burma) and how the current regime came to power, this is good reading, nonetheless. It will give you some historical background about why there is a huge conflict between the military regime in Yangon (Rangoon) and Nobel Peace Laureate Aung San Suu Kyi, who is the dissent leader under house arrest.The Shan state is one of many sub-nationalities that make up the very mixed Burmese nation. I was privileged to make a short visit to the Shan state a few years ago before it became difficult to do so. Burma was often called the Land of Regrets because it haunts people who visit and they long to return. It truly is the Land of Regrets. I hope things will change someday soon for the better, as it is a uniquely wonderful land. Joanna D. ( CA ) on Sun 11th Mar, 2001

★★★★★ Thoughts On Inge Sargent Let me first say that I am cheating a little in my rating - I just ordered the book and haven't read it yet! Inge Sargent was my German teacher in high school in Colorado in the early 80's. She was a wonderful teacher, and continually amazed us with the stories of her life. She was one of those rare teachers that you never forget - I can't wait to read the book!! ( CA ) on Fri 9th Mar, 2001

★★★★ [ Translate ] Account Of Life In Burma Spanning The Military Take Over In Austrian marries American educated and deeply caring feudal ruler of a Shan state in central Burma. This highly personal account of life in Burma in the 50's and early 60's is shattered by the brutal repression of the Shan state ruling class by the military dictatorship of Ne Win which seized power in 1962 from the civil government of U Nu. Facinating for its observation of life in the Shan States over this period though perhaps observed with little critical perception. The book conveys the deep horror of the human rights abuses perpetrated by the repressive Burman military regime dominated by Ne Win which continues with little change to the present day. A significant contribution to the understanding of life in the Shan State in the 50's and 60's as seen through the eyes of 'foreigner'. The book also graphically demonstrates the way in which a repressive military regime is able to dominate a deeply religious Bhuddist people and to ignore human rights while showing scant regard for human life. 27 years later the repression continues with little change. ( DE ) on Thu 29th Apr, 1999

Read more reviews »

Sponsored Items

Twilight Over Burma My Life as a Shan Princess Kolowalu Books

* Reviews last refreshed on 2016-Jul-17 *

Ratings table is based on all reviews held in our database (compiled from multiple sources), and may vary from individual sites.