Ratings

All Time Rating : 94% ★★★★★
4.7 out of 5 (Based on 209 Reviews)
30 Days Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
3 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
6 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
12 Months Rating : 98% ★★★★★
4.9 out of 5 (Based on 17 Reviews)
* Ratings & Reviews last refreshed on 2017-05-10 (see below)

Price History


Recent Reviews

★★★★ [ Translate ] Sehr Empfehlenswert! Klassiker. Geht einem nahe und regt zum Nachdenken an. Wer auf Realitätsnähe und weniger auf wilde Schlachtszenen steht, der sollte sich das Werk ansehn. Alexander Fischer ( DE ) on Mon 17th Apr, 2017

★★★★★ Five Stars Exactly as advertised-excellent,thank you Mary ( UK ) on Fri 3rd Mar, 2017

★★★★★ [ Translate ] Die Wahrheit über Den Zweiten Weltkrieg. Ich habe mir nie wirklich vorstellen können, was mein Vater durchgemacht hat, nachdem er 1942 mit 17 Jahren eingezogen wurde.Mein Vater, ein Mörder in Uniform, der andere Menschen massenweise umbringt und ihre Häuser zerstört? Undenkbar!Aber wer waren all diese Wehrmachtsoldaten, die zu Millionen losgezogen sind um die Welt in Schutt und Asche zu legen und von denen hunderttausende nie zurückgekommen sind?Mein Vater kam mit Lungenschuss 1947 aus der Kriegsgefangenschaft in seine völlig zerbombte Heimatstadt zurück, wurde zigmal operiert, war ein Leben lang gezeichnet und musste als ausgebildeter Maschinenbaukonstrukteur in seiner Firma erstmal zur Maurerkelle greifen, um die Büros wieder aufzubauen.Das einzige, was er je über den Krieg erzählt hat, war, dass er nur überlebt hat, weil kurz bevor er angeschossen wurde seit Tagen eine warme Mahlzeit aus der Gulaschkanone bekommen hatte und es in Gefangenschaft nur ab und zu versalzene Fischsuppe mit Brot gab und er dann immer von der Nudelsuppe seiner Mutter geträumt hat.Unsere Mütter, unsere Väter ist die glaubwürdigste Darstellung des Krieges und des Schicksals der Generation, die unter den Nationalsozialisten aufwachsen musste, die ich kenne. Absolut spannend erzählt und professionell umgesetzt.Keinen dieser Schauspieler kannte ich zuvor aber alle spielen hervorragend und absolut authentisch.Anhand von Einzelschicksalen lässt sich für nachfolgende Generationen, die das Glück hatten in einem Europa des Friedens und Wohlstands aufzuwachsen, nachvollziehen, wie es einem hätte ergehen können, wenn man nicht im Wirtschaftswunder, sondern eine Generation zuvor geboren worden wäre. Wer diesen Film sieht, weiß, wie wertvoll Frieden und Völkerverständigung sind und ist verpflichtet, aufzustehen und denen, die nichts dazugelernt haben und schon wieder mit immer gleichen Parolen hetzen und verleumden entschlossen entgegenzuwirken. Ute Sautter ( DE ) on Sun 26th Feb, 2017

★★★★★ [ Translate ] Film Sehr guter, realistischer Film, kann ich nur empfehlen.Würde ich Jugendlichen erst ab 17 zeigen und eine Unterhaltung zur Klärung wäre für Jugendliche hilfreich, ist keinActionfilm. Frank ( DE ) on Fri 17th Feb, 2017

★★★★★ Five Stars Loved this series.Anybody knows if this copy comes with english subtitles?? "http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00B1UAK8K/ref=pe_385721_37986871_TE_item Johannes Lundin ( UK ) on Thu 9th Feb, 2017

★★★★★ Such An Amazing Insight Into The "other Side" And How The German ... Such an amazing insight into the "other side" and how the German soldier suffered too in the last war. Really believable characters, you can identify with them and their journeys. PammyMac ( UK ) on Tue 7th Feb, 2017

★★★★ From A Different Perspective This series has garnered complaints in Poland and in the US but I found it to be unswerving in showing the German side of the Eastern front and these five young lives. The series being told this way is a departure from the US or UK angle and I don't think ducks the treatment of the Jews or the brutality of some Germans in fact one scene shows a Jewish girl shot simply for being Jewish. I also think it shows how powerful the Nazis were in controlling their own people and making them do things they would not ordinarily have done and how this troubled them.War brings out the worst in men and thats not changed since WWII the German broadcaster has given us a TV series thats gripping and well made. Jeff Allen ( UK ) on Thu 2nd Feb, 2017

★★★★★ Hard Hitting View Of The WW2 An engrossing vision of war from the German perspective.Five friends stories of a brutal war where not just the soldiers suffered.Each story is engrossing and shows the war from differing views, the soldiers x2, the nurse, the Jew, the Berliner.Battle scenes are graphic but not gruesome, where fear is strong, terror is ever present and heroism is missing... survival is paramount with indiscriminate bullets and bombs ever present.The Jewish element is well handled, especially the selling out of German Jews..The scars of war on society is explored but not fully covered, but the feeling that it changed so many people in such a devastating way is well portrayed.Will buy once released in UK.Shown in Australia (on SBS) with subtitles. Brian D. Betts ( UK ) on Mon 30th Jan, 2017

★★★★★ Excellent Story Watched this on a BA flight, with English subtitles - excellent mini-series charting the experience of 5 young Germans in the main part of the 2WW, going from confidence and excitement through to (and we all know the ending of the war) despair and realisation. It is not an easy path and a number of the characters develop in unexpected ways, and it is interesting to see the development of the war from the German viewpoint. Annoying that a subtitled version is not yet available - I even e mailed the production company!A great story and very good acting. London ( UK ) on Sun 22nd Jan, 2017

★★★★★ Brilliant I first saw this film with english subtitles on a BA flight from Bangkok to London. I bought the DVD but unfortunately did not come with subtitles. I found the film very powerful depicting the lives of 5 young people and their individual journey through WWII. I am really pleased that this German film did not glorify the German position but actually showed the misery and pointlessness of war. By the beach ( UK ) on Sun 15th Jan, 2017

★★★★★ Absorbing, Harrowing, Presume No English Subtitles? I am presuming this is the German version with no subtitles. Watched on RTE (N. Ireland) Dec 2013, titled Generation War. BBC2 bought the rights in August 2013 and I believe it is to be shown at Easter 2014. Pre-ordering with English subtitles now seems to have been put back to 1 April 2014, to build the hype I guess!Was gripped from the first episode, each 1.30 mins. I'm no expert on history but found the focus on the German/Russian front a new slant. My grandfather was lost on the Russian front, so for me especially poignant.It is the stories of five young friends throughout WWII. A German production, with nothing held back. One review recalled that a generation was passing away without their stories being told. This series recounts some of those. I found it absorbing, moving and harrowing. C. G. Klapproth ( UK ) on Sun 15th Jan, 2017

★★★★★ [ Translate ] Sehr Zu Empfehlen! Ausgezeichner Film! So kontrastiert er jene Filme, die ich in meiner Schulzeit vor erst wenigen Jahren im Unterricht vorgesetzt bekommen habe: Da gab es einen tapferen Protagonisten in der Hauptrolle, der sich seinem Antagonisten in Form des bösen NS-Regime widersetzt. Natürlich wusste sich schlagartig jeder Schüler mit so einem Helden zu identifizieren. Warum auch einen Film machen oder gar zeigen, der die Geschichte erzählt vom Scheitern fünf junger Mensch, denen doch eigentlich die Zukunft gehören sollte. Menschen, wie Du und ich es hätten sein können. Friedhelm brachte es im Film auf den Punkt: "Der Krieg wird nur das Schlechteste in uns zum Vorschein bringen". Der Film zeigt, wie fünf junge Personen alles verlieren, sich selbst verlieren, Schandtaten begehen. Die Rolle des Friedhelm ist dabei besonders tragisch: einst schüchtern und eher feminin in der Ausstrahlung, unglaublich intelligent und kritisch im Geiste, ja gar ein Pazifist, lässt an der Front zunächst seine Kameraden im Stich, und avanchiert letzten Endes dann zum Kindermörder und Kriegsverbrecher. Der Dreiteiler gehört unbedingt angeschaut! Michael B. ( DE ) on Wed 11th Jan, 2017

★★★★★ SUPERB HISTORICAL DRAMA This trilogy is simply outstanding!! The performances are superb, the depiction of WWII from the perspective of young Germans is bold, honest, sensitive and beautifully executed. I cannot recommend it enough! Nordicprincess ( UK ) on Sat 7th Jan, 2017

★★★★★ Great DVD - One Needs To Speak Great DVD - one needs to speak German Geoff ( UK ) on Fri 6th Jan, 2017

★★★★★ [ Translate ] Eine Sehr Realistische Dokumentation Neben vielen anderen ähnlichen Dramatisierungen der damaligen Zeit wirkt diese Serie besonders realistisch und sollte deshalb in keiner Sammlung fehen Dieter Neumann ( DE ) on Sun 20th Nov, 2016

Read more reviews »

Sponsored Items

Unsere MAtildefrac14tter unsere VAtildecurrenter 2 DVDs

* Reviews last refreshed on 2017-May-10 *

Ratings table is based on all reviews held in our database (compiled from multiple sources), and may vary from individual sites.