Ratings

All Time Rating : 90% ★★★★★
4.5 out of 5 (Based on 14 Reviews)
30 Days Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
3 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
6 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
12 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
* Ratings & Reviews last refreshed on 2016-07-09 (see below)

Price History


Recent Reviews

★★★★★ Five Stars Great game, the flow chart could have been more like VLR but it's still good Vanessa Luna ( US ) on Thu 7th Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Thought Provoking, Deep, Psychological Masterpiece Equally as good as the first two, if not more. The now animated cutscenes make the story bits more enjoyable and the puzzles are still great. I was a bit disoriented at the whole fragment memory system at first and playing scenes out of order, but I stuck with it and there was a point where everything "clicked" and I immediately understood everything that was going on. Without spoiling, just know that this system involves memories, loss of said memories, and making the player feel like the characters when they lose those memories.If you are a fan of the the first two games, then you are already playing or planning to play this soon. I would just say that this game is definitely NOT the game to introduce you to the series. I would start with Virtue's Last Reward (like I did), or preferably 999 if you have a DS. LE ( US ) on Thu 7th Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Fantastic Game, And A Solid Entry Of An Amazing Series Amazing game! I was first introduced to this series through Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward. After that, I was hooked. I ended up buying 999: Nine Hours, Nine Persons, Nine Doors and played through it for the backstory. After playing the first two games, I patiently waited for the release of the third. I'm only halfway through the game right now, but I've been enjoying the gameplay (which is handled similar to Virtue's Last Reward, with regards to skipping through the global flow chart to different points, and the way you interact with the rooms and puzzles), rich story content (including character backstories), and excellent voice acting. I'd recommend this game to anyone who is a fan of the series, or anyone who enjoys puzzles, and/or games with rich story content. I'd say more, but I want to head back to finishing my game now... Maixner ( CA ) on Wed 6th Jul, 2016

★★★★ Solid Installment In The Series Having just completed the game 100% yesterday, I can say that this is probably my least favorite in the series, and it's still completely awesome. There were a few weak spots in the story, there really weren't enough puzzles, and the 3D cutscenes sometimes look really wonky (wrists and hair especially), but the game still had the twists and turns I've come to expect from the Zero Escape series, and I enjoyed every last minute of this game. It also seemed like they left it open-ended enough for a sequel, which I'm all for. M. Day ( US ) on Wed 6th Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Great Game! The puzzles were fun and the story was awesome! Shaun ( CA ) on Tue 5th Jul, 2016

★★★★ Flawed But A Great Finale Zero Time Dilemma is the third and final installment in the Zero Escape series.Story: 5In terms of story, this game gets it right for the most part and clears up the loose ends of the previous games. I can see some not liking the ending but I enjoyed it.Gameplay: 4It's your standard escape the room gameplay so nothing new here. I would say this game has the most inconsistent quality of escape rooms of the three games. There are some good ones but most of them are either too short, too easy or just plain boring.Graphics: 2However, the main reason I am giving it a 4 is because the game's graphics and animations look like 90's cgi and the framerate drops constantly. It's not bad enough to hamper the story.Sound: 5This game uses a combination of old tracks from the previous two mixed in with new tracks. Great soundtrack! Most of the cast is good with the exception of a few like Akane.In closing, if you are a fan of the previous, go buy this game. But if you are not, don't start with this one, try to play 999 or VLR first. Justin Gomes ( CA ) on Mon 4th Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Not The Port For You. This game should have had way WAY more effort put into it for the 3ds version, thus the low rating.Get this game for Vita, it'll look a ton better. Resolution is disgustingly small on my original 3ds, making puzzles awful to try and solve. They didn't include a zoom feature, absolute garbage.The game is alright but it's no 999 or VLR. I'm glad I got closure finally playing this game, but it was pretty crappily done.Did I mention if you're going to get this, definitely get it for the Vita? Yeah... Robin ( CA ) on Sun 3rd Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Good Game, Problematic Writing. I'll try to be as detailled as possible in this review, without spoiling anything.Zero Time Dilemma takes place between 999 and Virtue Last Reward (if you haven't played those don't try to play this game, you'll be lost) and was supposed to bring closure to the trilogy. Let me say that I've been a fan of the Zero Escape series for a while, and I expected this third installment to live up to the rest of the series. However, it did not.As far as graphics go, I'll say that I'm rather impressed for a Vita game. I've only noticed very few graphical glitches during my playthrough (and they were minor). The way everything is presented in long cutscenes (instead of the classic Visual Novel *click* to advance the text) was interesting and pleasant. It felt like watching a movie. Some people may critic camera pans and such things, but really none of it bothered me, I would consider this to be nitpicking.Zero Escape is known for one thing: the escapes, consisting in various puzzles inside a room you try to leave (they are refered to as "quests" in-game). The problem with those in this game is twofold: 1) Unlike the other games, the escapes seem really pointless. I won't go into details here to avoid any spoilers for anyone, but you'll come to realise there is actually no reason for any of these things to be in-game aside from "those are always in Zero Escape games". Zero Time Dilemma never gives a proper reason as to why the characters actually have to escape the rooms they find themselves confined into. 2) The puzzles are most of the time easy. Never once have I been really stuck inside a room and wondering really what the puzzle answer was, unlike in VLR or 999 (and I'm certainly not a super-genius, I doubt it's because of that). Moreover, a lot of times puzzles type repeat themselves in the game in different rooms. If I've done a "place x objects in a case" puzzle once, chances are I can do it again. No need to make me do this thrice. I do realise, however, that this might be appealing to the people who want to experience a good story without getting stuck on hard puzzles, so if this is your thing, then you can count that as a positive. [Note: there was one particular puzzle that was more challenging that others I'll admit [transporter], but that's one in twelve]The Zero Escape series always have had convoluted stories. In this game, all of it was subpar compared to VLR and 999 for many reasons. I will say that I did enjoy everything until the last part of the game, but that was enough to ruin my enjoyment. Though there are plenty of cool plot twist and all that keep you interested during the game [Zero's reveal was incredible], towards the end there are a lot of things that happen that don't make sense or are not properly explained. I cannot be specific here (because spoilers), but let's just say that not only will some things toward the end not make sense inside Zero Time Dilemma's storyline itself [Zero's plan itself is very very... something], but will also completely invalidate particular points in VLR [for those who played VLR that wonder what I'm talking about, I'm referring to two very specific characters in VLR that are supposed to have a role in ZTD, but never do: this is not some minor oversight, since this causes major plot holes in the series as a whole]. There are also a lot of things in ZTD that are left obscure toward the end, and a lot of things from the Zero Escape universes that never receive proper explanation, even if this very game is supposed to bring closure and answer everything. In fact, instead of bringing closure to, what ZTD actually accomplishes is introducing more new obscure elements and complicated things that are never properly adressed. Seeing as we are very unlikely to ever have a fourth installment of the series, I must consider this game as the last one, and as such it has failed.I'm not saying other games in the series didn't have writing problems: VLR had a very complicated plot, 999 left many things obscure, but the thing is that ZTD does not have the same excuse. It's a conclusion to the series, not a simple entry. As such, it should at least make things clear (or most of them), not introduce whole new elements that are not adressed just to make the plot work (that's lazy writing) and certainly NOT create plot holes by contradicting previous entries.There are also other points that could be worth noting about characters and whatnot, but I think I went in depth enough here.All that being said, I'm not saying that there is no enjoyment to be had with this title, I did give it 3 stars, I did have some fun during my gameplay. However, seeing as the main focus of the game is its story, and seeing major problems within it, I cannot understand how this could be given four or five stars by anyone, even a fan of the series. This game is flawed in major ways because of the writing, there is no way around it.In conclusion, if you played 999 and VLR and want some closure (as far as ZTD can give you one), you probably should play this. Don't set your expectations too high though: it will end up in disappointement. N. ( CA ) on Sun 3rd Jul, 2016

★★★★★ A Great Game To End A Great Trilogy I gave it a five star review because it is a five star game, and as part of the Zero Escape series there are certain aspects that are expected, like:Pros:A wonderful, complicated story.Characters with backstories that motivate/explains their actions.Fun puzzles that make you go eureka when you figure it out.Lots of foreshadowing that when you later replay scenes everything just goes into place.Gore reminiscent of 999. Some of it actually made me sick.Played the game in Japanese with English subtitles, so I can't say much for the dub, but the VA was amazing.Dialogue was great.Zero is as menacing as its past incarnations.The fragment style takes some time getting used to it but it works perfectly with ZTD's story.The luck aspect of the game may be annoying to some, but it truly goes with Zero's motto: Life is unfair.Just for these couple of things, ZTD is an amazing game that easily beats so many games out there in the market and it's a must have for fans who played Virtue's Last Reward (VLR) and 999. I strongly recommend playing these two games first since a lot of the plot relies on you knowing what's going on and even though the game tells you certain important aspects, newcomers will not appreciate the subtleties of the game if they haven't played the other two.Cons:I feel Phi wasn't given as much development or screen time as the other characters in the story. Quite disappointing since she was one of my favorites.Q team's post-game resolution. This one you have to read in the cinema files but when I read it I just went "Wow... no."The cinematic story was a bit clunky at times. I appreciate the team trying to give us a cinematic experience, but sometimes the characters looked awkward, and it didn't help that most of the time the spoken words did not match the lip movements, which was distracting in the beginning and took some time getting used to.Certain in-game lore was completely thrown out or turned upside down with some reveals. You will understand what I mean when you finish playing the game. Kind of cheapens the continuity of the trilogy.A lot of characters from VLR, whose fates were left on a cliffhanger or open-ended, did not get a conclusion. Disappointing especially for those characters a fan might have loved.ZTD's greatest weakness is also what makes it great: being the conclusion to the Zero Escape trilogy. 999 started an expectation of absolute greatness when it comes to Zero Escape. VLR continued that expectation by being a very solid addition to the series, further cementing the fact that Zero Escape is a gem of story-making and puzzle gameplay. VLR's ending hyped ZTD to levels that just made waiting 4 years for ZTD completely unbearable.Does ZTD deliver a conclusion to the series? Yes. Is it a satisfying conclusion? That depends. I personally did not enjoy the conclusion of the series. The ending was good, great and meta even, but there was a glaring plot hole that I could not get past, one of Zero's motivations did not convince me completely, and the inclusion of a certain VERY used item in the game came off as cheap since, unlike the morphogenetic field and SHIFTing, it had no full explanation and was just there out of convenience.Even though ZTD disappointed me a bit, I absolutely recommend it to all fans of the trilogy. Overall it was an amazing game, much better than a lot of games are. I loved the twists, the atmosphere was absolutely creepy, and I believe the pros absolutely outnumber the cons. The Zero Escape trilogy is a masterpiece that I will remember. Andine ( US ) on Sun 3rd Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Zero Time Dilemma Is A Must Buy For Zero Escape Fans. Zero Time Dilemma is a game that's been years in the making. It's the third entry in the much beloved Zero Escape series and picks up right where Virtue's Last Reward leaves off. It's the year 2028 and nine people find themselves trapped inside an underground bomb shelter and the only way to escape is to kill off each other. The cast features an assortment of familiar faces from the previous games as well as a few new characters. The puzzles are engaging and fun although not as varied as the ones in VLR while the story is as expansive and weird as you'd expect from the series. All in all, Zero Time Dilemma is an amazing ride from start to finish. Amazon Customer ( US ) on Sat 2nd Jul, 2016

★★★★★ It's About Time!! It actually happened!! Volume 3 released! Played for around a hour so far, so far it's even better than the past two games. Much more voice acting with less text box reading. Will update review once finished. Shawn ( CA ) on Fri 1st Jul, 2016

★★★★★ Amazing Adventure Game!! If you appreciate great stories and love puzzle solving and don't mind a bit of gore than this is the perfect game for you! Azai ( US ) on Wed 29th Jun, 2016

★★★★★ Can't Wait To Play This Game As I Loved Virtues Last Reward And 999 And Loved Them Arrived on time! Can't wait to play this game as I loved virtues last reward and 999 and loved them! Amanda Durant ( CA ) on Wed 29th Jun, 2016

★★★★★ The Conclusion Towards A Masterful Trilogy. A video version of this review can be found on my YouTube channel named ShadowForks GamesWhat is a Zero Escape Game?A well-written story full of intrigue.An anthology of well-constructed puzzles.A dynamic cast of characters that break away from typical stereotypes.It’s also a miracle.The first game, 999 (or Nine Persons, Nine Hours, Nine Doors) released on the DS in 2009, finding cult success here in the west due to its immaculate translation and its mature temperament. The mature tones and outstanding storytelling was astonishingly refreshing so late into the handhelds life. Surprisingly, 999 didn’t fare well in Japan and its sequel’s production was hinged mostly on the fact that it had reached astonishing success in English-speaking areas. Maybe it was those who had grown up accustomed to their Nintendo handheld whom we should be thanking for this creative and extraordinary series, or maybe it was the niche American audience starved for a well-adapted visual-novel. Either way, Zero Time Dilemma marks the conclusion of the Zero Escape games; a series that has been treasured by almost all of those that have taken a chance on it.Virtues Last Reward (Volume 2 of the Zero Escape chronology) ended with a cliffhanger; a cliffhanger that for all who experienced it didn’t know for sure if it was to be concluded. After four painstakingly ambiguous years, we finally have Zero Time Dilemma putting a decisive cap on the series. While Uchikoshi (the series’ director) had stated previously that he would address all the mysteries set up in the previous game and specifically stated that he would “make the story enjoyable for first time players“.I warn you right now, if you haven’t played the first 2 games in the series DO NOT listen to Uchikoshi-san. I have immense respect for the man, (this series’ soul is attributed to him) but while he objectively is right, you’re doing yourself a disservice playing volume 3 before volumes 1 and 2. The difference between playing this game before the others and jumping into this final cap of the series will gauge your enjoyment of both the originals and the most recent in the trilogy. The story will make sense to you and following along will be easy, but enjoying the game will be immeasurably hindered by not following the previous 2 in the series. So make sure you pick up both 999 and Virtues Last Reward and complete them before diving in.The Zero Escape games are visual novel stories told through great voice-acting (a welcome return of Virtues Last Reward) sprinkled with cerebral puzzles that take the player through deep and convoluted “escape rooms”. I’ve had to mentally and physically prepare myself for each escape room. Notebooks and audio-logs I’ve involuntarily created scatter my desks and hard-drives. The puzzles are still rewarding and immaculately designed. The third Zero Escape game does not take any steps back in terms of game-play.As for the story, my expectations which transpired from the previous entries were met if not exceeded with every aspect of writing, characters, theme, and drama incorporated in Zero Time Dilemma. The aesthetic (save for some hokey animation) has accentuated the disheveled world in which the Zero Escape games unfold. And while without spoiling anything, there is the possibility of a fourth game juxtaposed with its exhaustively decisive ending. The writing is as impressive as ever, juggling multiple endings while accommodating a systematic narrative. As for the characters, each one–whether familiar or a complete newcomer is incredible due to the astonishingly appealing character designs and well-produced voice acting. There’s also a tension which, while never absent from the series, is heightened in this latest entry due to turbulent acts of violence that frequently riddle the narrative.In conclusion, Zero Time Dilemma is perfect. From its presentation to its onerous gameplay, this game flawlessly ends this seven year saga. So please take my advice, buy Zero Time Dilemma, 999, and Virtues Last Reward for about $60.00 altogether (you can get Zero Time Dilemma for 32 dollars via Amazon Prime). Encounter the creepy, rewarding, and provocative story; one that’s been the most flawlessly executed to ever grace video games. Daniel T. ( US ) on Tue 28th Jun, 2016

Read more reviews »

Sponsored Items

Zero Time Dilemma

* Reviews last refreshed on 2016-Jul-09 *

Ratings table is based on all reviews held in our database (compiled from multiple sources), and may vary from individual sites.