Ratings

All Time Rating : 78% ★★★★
3.9 out of 5 (Based on 84 Reviews)
30 Days Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
3 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
6 Months Rating : 0% ★★★★★
No reviews found
12 Months Rating : 80% ★★★★
4.0 out of 5 (Based on 21 Reviews)
* Ratings & Reviews last refreshed on 2017-05-10 (see below)

Price History


Recent Reviews

★★★★★ OK TV Show Starts well but becomes predictably vague about what actually happened to the people who disappeared and the dream-like quality jars with the rest of the programme. I just didn't invest in the story or the fate of the characters. Nicely filmed and acted. O Madylus ( UK ) on Sun 15th Jan, 2017

★★★★★ Food For Thought. I never in a million years thought that this sort of thing would be my cup of tea but having heard the buzz about The Leftovers, I wanted to give it a try and keep an open mind. I’m so pleased I did because, much to my surprise, I found it compelling viewing.The story is about the unexplained disappearance into thin air of about 2% of the population. It is set in a small town in New York State and tells of the people who are left behind. A cult faction called The Guilty Remnant is at odds with the townsfolk as it identifies and stalks likely converts to their weird regime. Meanwhile, the town’s police chief, Kevin Garvey, has his work cut out on all sides. Is he losing his mind like his father before him?Brilliantly shot, with superb acting, plenty of blood, gore and bad language, action-enhancing music and a well-judged balance between the enigmatic and the thought-provoking, The Leftovers is definitely a marmite series. I found I was utterly gripped. The credit sequence is breathtaking. SueKich ( UK ) on Sun 15th Jan, 2017

★★★★★ I Loved This It's Full Of Shifts Of Mood And The ... I loved this it's full of shifts of mood and the underlying Departed hanging over the entire world the look at society after the event is fascinating now watching season 2 S. Mccartney ( UK ) on Sat 14th Jan, 2017

★★★★★ Five Stars Great dvd sylvia williams ( UK ) on Tue 10th Jan, 2017

★★★★ Four Stars Great service great gift. Jim Docherty ( UK ) on Sun 8th Jan, 2017

★★★★★ Five Stars Perfect copy P. J. Jorgensen ( UK ) on Fri 6th Jan, 2017

★★★★★ Five Stars Very good Julie Eckersley ( UK ) on Wed 23rd Nov, 2016

★★★★ SO ADEPT AT KNOWING HOW BEST TO PERTURB On 14th October, all over the world, millions in an instant disappeared. In New York, the community of Mapleton was suddenly without a hundred friends and relatives. Three years later, this is their story - they still trying desperately to cope.Problems abound. Preacher Matt tries to stress this had not been God calling to heaven the faithful. As proof, he publishes full details of sinners amongst the departed - their families enraged, his congregation dwindling. Also causing hostility is a creepy new sect, it determined that all will forever be reminded of their loss. Whiteclad and smoking, they stage silent vigils outside grieving homes. Convinced another big Departure is imminent, teenagers decide to live life to the full with sex, drugs and dare-devil exploits.Pity Chief of Police Kevin Garvey as he strives to cope! The position was previously held by his father, in a psychiatric ward ever since the calamity. Is Kevin heading that way? His dreams greatly trouble and there are blackouts, too much now happening he simply does not understand.Justin Theroux impresses as the flawed Police Chief. Others shining amongst a fine cast are Ann Dowd as head of the unnerving sect and Christopher Eccleston as the preacher (he so impressing the creators, they built up his role.)This is one of those series ("The Prisoner", "Twin Peaks", "Lost", etc.) which represent a real challenge, viewers making of it what they will.Initially perplexed, I found the Pilot's commentary very helpful indeed (and unexpectedly amusing). The finale commentary is also well worth a listen. Disc 3's bonuses are most interesting, shedding light on aspects that may have confused.Do not expect answers, though. When asked to explain the disappearances, author Tom Perrotta always replied, "Do you really want to know?" The book and series are not about them, focus instead on those who remain trying to make sense of their lives.Ten episodes (Pilot 70 minutes, others 50+).Some have found THE LEFTOVERS a self-indulgent irritant, best avoided. For others it is cult viewing - all very mystical and designed to intrigue.I confess to becoming hooked. Mr. D. L. Rees ( UK ) on Fri 11th Nov, 2016

★★★★★ Fab You either love it or you hate it. Complex storyline you've got to be clever. Amazon Customer ( UK ) on Sun 6th Nov, 2016

★★★★ Not For Me I found I had no empathy with any of the characters - the plot was bewildering and I stopped watching after a few episodes (kept trying even though I didn't like the early ones) because it was bleak, depressing and did not engage me. TC ( UK ) on Sat 22nd Oct, 2016

★★★★★ Not Pleasant It could have been a good story but concentrating on the seedy side of life with promiscuous drug taking teenagers, general moody and grumpy adults, general swearing and over the top violence just put me off it. I gave up after four just episodes. C. Compton ( UK ) on Mon 17th Oct, 2016

★★★★ Limitations bought this as to start it was very weird and was trying to understand what the the plot or what it about. that it might improve as it can't get any worse that before. Martinlawrencecocksedge ( UK ) on Tue 4th Oct, 2016

★★★★★ [ Translate ] Envoutant Magnifique série qui se démarque, beaucoup de personnages très complexes et énigmatiques auxquels on s'attache. Un mélange de scènes brutes et de passage oniriques. Il se dégage vraiment un charme envoutant de cette série Client d'Amazon ( FR ) on Sun 4th Sep, 2016

★★★★★ It Sure Aint A Sandra Bullock Film But I Loved It! I loved this series.I'm surprised that there have been so many negative comments, I thought it was a very dark series but the acting was very good the concept interesting and the plot well put together and though provoking. Its not like anything I've seen in a long time. I watched the whole first series in a week and am straight on to the next series. Yes there are some things that are left open to interpretation and no you don't know exactly what's going on from the start but the script was very well written and you left each episode understanding a little more. I liked the how some episodes focused on a different character and what they were each going through helping you to piece together it all.Really an excellent series and I would highly recommend to anyone looking for something a bit different. Chloe ( UK ) on Thu 11th Aug, 2016

★★★★★ [ Translate ] Un Bijou Télévisuel The Leftovers vaut le coup. C'est une série psychologique, qui mise plus sur les émotions et sur l'humain que sur l'action et la violence (même s'il y en a, bien sûr ! ça reste une série HBO). A ne pas rater. Grifta ( FR ) on Sat 30th Jul, 2016

Read more reviews »

Sponsored Items

The Leftovers - Linteacutegrale de la Saison 1

* Reviews last refreshed on 2017-May-10 *

Ratings table is based on all reviews held in our database (compiled from multiple sources), and may vary from individual sites.